1. Home
  2. Cruise Styles
  3. Singles Cruises
  4. Singles Cruises Cruise Reviews
Cruise Ratings
1,135
640
339
149
130
See Reviews For
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2019
This new ship is gorgeous! The staff is uniformly marvelous. The choices on the Lido were more than adequate. My problem with the ship had to do with my cabin #1006. I decided to save money by getting a "guaranteed" fare for an ... Read More
This new ship is gorgeous! The staff is uniformly marvelous. The choices on the Lido were more than adequate. My problem with the ship had to do with my cabin #1006. I decided to save money by getting a "guaranteed" fare for an inside cabin. Being such a new ship, I erroneously thought that all the cabins would be fine. I was upgraded to an ocean view that had a nice large window. Turns out it is a "single" cabin. Being tiny was not the problem. Being in that location was a HUGE problem. When the stabilizers were on the noise was horrendous. They were on all day every port day that we had to be positioned off shore for the tenders to operate. It was too noisy to read, nap, or even to watch TV. The other problem with this location was the loud and very forceful banging from the waves as we traveled. It would feel like a huge weight was hitting the cabin and especially the bed...all...night...long! I don't feel that the cabin is at all suitable for human habitation. Th music was mostly raucous to my ears. The dueling pianos were absurdly bad. Not at all a matched set of artists. I don't care for outdoor movies, but was very pleased with the variety on the TV in the cabin. The activity I was interested in, the singles get-togethers, was non-existent except for one announcement for trivia. The Lido does not have a menu listing on the TV, or on a wall. Service on the Lido was very nice. my only comment was the people in the kitchen and serving area that yelled at each other. Not lending to a lovely experience. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2019
Our mini suite was nice , but the bathroom was outdated and rusty. Deck chairs were old and dirty. The ship seems to cater to the 70 plus crowd. I did not have a lot of fun on this cruise . If you are under age 60, I would suggest Royal ... Read More
Our mini suite was nice , but the bathroom was outdated and rusty. Deck chairs were old and dirty. The ship seems to cater to the 70 plus crowd. I did not have a lot of fun on this cruise . If you are under age 60, I would suggest Royal Caribbean for a more upbeat lively time and more activities. For the prices of a princess cruise , the rooms should be beautiful as well as the bathrooms . The pool area is small and lacks enough seating I will say the food is excellent and staff very nice . The World Market where the breakfast and lunch buffet is lacks seating during peak times . The elevators are slow at best and you can barely hear the chime if someone is talking . The layout of the ship is confusing. As a passenger , I should not have to walk to the other end of the ship to get to the 15th floor Read Less
Sail Date: April 2019
After reading all the bad reviews of the Epic's February and March cruises, I was very apprehensive about my upcoming April 6 cruise. My worries were for naught. The cruise from Embarkation to Debarkation was very satisfying. ... Read More
After reading all the bad reviews of the Epic's February and March cruises, I was very apprehensive about my upcoming April 6 cruise. My worries were for naught. The cruise from Embarkation to Debarkation was very satisfying. Although the ship is huge, it didn't feel any more crowded than the smaller boats I've been on. Elevator wait times were not bad except when shows were finished. The wait for drinks at the bar wasn't bad, no more than 3-4 minutes at times. The specialty restaurants were excellent. The service was impeccable. Not only in the specialty restaurants but also in the free dining rooms. The food at Cagney's was very good, I had the lamb chops. The food and performance of the cook at Tepanyaki was excellent. The food at La Cucina was outstanding. There wasn't a dessert offering at Teppanyaki, I always ordered two appetizers since there was no additional charge. The food at the two free dining rooms was o.k., but the service was excellent. The entertainment was great. Broadway or West End equivalent. Pricilla Queen of the Dessert was not for kids.. It was up there with The Book of Mormon. Burn the Floor was fabulous and thats coming from one who i not crazy about dancing shows. I skipped the ports since I've been to them all before. Not a fan of most of the overpriced activities. Would go again on the Epic. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: April 2019
first Norwegian cruise ! choose the Epic for the studio rooms for solo travelers - the room is perfect for one person and the use of the studio lounge was nice = met a lot of nice people there as well as on the ship - the shows were ... Read More
first Norwegian cruise ! choose the Epic for the studio rooms for solo travelers - the room is perfect for one person and the use of the studio lounge was nice = met a lot of nice people there as well as on the ship - the shows were great [as usual ] - my only complaint was that the food I ate at several restaurants was cold and had to be returned - this was at the Taste, Sheehans Pub & grill and the worst was at Stirrup Cays buffet - the hot dogs, and hamburgs were cold as well as the corn on the cob [also tough and not sweet ] - found the pools to be small for such a large ship !! also the food at Shanghais was also cold & sent back - I've been on 3 different cruise lines on 5 cruises and this was my first encounter with being served cold food - as I said I like the solo room and the price !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Read Less
Sail Date: April 2019
After more than 10 cruises with Princess Cruises and Royal Caribbean me and my husband we decided to try something different. “Cruising the Eastern Europe” on board Viking LIF was our first river cruise and our first Viking cruise at ... Read More
After more than 10 cruises with Princess Cruises and Royal Caribbean me and my husband we decided to try something different. “Cruising the Eastern Europe” on board Viking LIF was our first river cruise and our first Viking cruise at the same time. What can I say about the entire experience? I already booked another 2 cruises with Viking. Everything was above exceptional: the service, the ship, the excursions and the staff on board. The staff on board Viking Lif was exceptional. Martina and Bart in the restaurant and lounge were perfect, always smiling and with great manners. Our room attendant Maya was a very nice girl with a lovely positive attitude and our cabin was always impeccable. We fall in love with the reception staff (Suzy and Johnny) always helpful and smiling and Capitan Anna was incredible: charming and always available to answer to any questions. Joseph the Hotel Director was one of the best we ever meet, solving any problems or requests we hand, nothing was too much for him. But the most impressive was our Cruise Director Leonard. His encyclopaedical knowledge, sense of humour and dedication made this trip unforgettable. Leonard was everywhere and sometimes we thought that he had 3 or 4 clones on board to be always smiling and ready to assist from 5AM to 1PM, every day. I wish I could record his commentary during the Iron Gate sea day when the amount of historical, geographical and social information mixed with a lot of legends and local traditions plus a fantastic sense of humour reminded me of a National Geographic documentary. He really made this trip unforgettable for us! Can’t wait for our next cruise with Viking Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: March 2019
My friend and I booked this cruise last year while on MSC Seaside. I had been to most of the Far East ports, but my travel friend, Judy, had not seen them. We flew from Tampa to Toronto and on to Dubai enjoying business class all the ... Read More
My friend and I booked this cruise last year while on MSC Seaside. I had been to most of the Far East ports, but my travel friend, Judy, had not seen them. We flew from Tampa to Toronto and on to Dubai enjoying business class all the way. One night was spent at the Dubai Marriott, and the following morning we taxied to the port. And there the problems began! There was a "time to board" listed on your information, but most of the 3500 passengers were already in the very crowded check-in area. Those in Yacht Club were given a place to sit and wait - we commoners just stood in line for nearly two hours. Not a good impression!. Once on board, we found our adjoining balcony cabins to be nicely furnished. I requested my duvet be replaced by a light blanket, and it was quickly done. My "bath tube" as noted on the reservation was a lovely large tub with shower - and all the really hot water one could ask for. Storage space was wonderful, and would have been fine for two guests in the room. The TV was mounted at ceiling height and quite small. We were out of range for English speaking stations much of the time, so it didn't matter too much. We had requested early dining, and found ourselves seated with folks who had limited English. We asked for a change, and were assigned to another dining room where we shared a table for six with an English couple and a couple from Australia. We had a grand time comparing countries and cruises for the entire 28-day cruise. Entertainment was based on opera most evenings. A soloist or duo or quartet sang with piano and flute or violin. There were a few song and dance shows, but due to the passengers' many languages we had no comedians or acts that required a good understanding of English. Food in the dining room tended to be about average rather than great. Always sufficient for any normal appetite, and enough selection to suit almost all passengers. The beverage package that included cocktails, wine, specialty coffee, water and soda in unlimited quantity was a true bargain at $28 per day. We had prepaid for excursions in all ports, and found many were not worth the price paid. Passengers with excursion vouchers had to congregate in the theater, and the staff sent out four or five busses (speaking various languages) at the same time to the same destination. We were late arriving at many sights, and waited in lines for up to an hour to board an elevator in some buildings. There was a library that had about 500 books in German, a hundred or so in French, Spanish, Italian and Chinese, and NONE in English - although there was a shelf with a sign that said English. There was almost no TV, and no daily news sheet was every printed. We had little idea of what was happening in the world during our cruise. Read Less
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
Firstly this was our first cruise so we have nothing to completely judge against, however the things I will talk about was our experience. On arrival onto the ship we we’re badgered by staff wanting us to sign up to a drinks package ... Read More
Firstly this was our first cruise so we have nothing to completely judge against, however the things I will talk about was our experience. On arrival onto the ship we we’re badgered by staff wanting us to sign up to a drinks package which we had already sorted pre arrival. This also didn’t stop for a couple of days. ( by all means assist customers but make staff be seen but have customers approach staff ) We also were constantly bugged by the staff photographers constantly asking if we wanted our picture taken and even after a polite no they then pleaded ‘it will only take a few minutes ‘ whilst following us. My polite no’s were beginning to wear very thin towards the end. To add insult to injury the one time we gave in, we were then automatically charged £34.99 to our card before even seeing them. From the reception they told me it was down to me to say I didn’t want them to have the charge removed. So I was glad to keep an eye on my account on my tv in my cabin. Otherwise it would have been a shock on leaving. ( may be better for customers to say yes before charging). Each place we docked at we were badgered if we wanted taxi or sight seeing bus. All were stupid prices and you can do so much better sourcing your own public transport at great prices.... it got tiresome as they wouldn’t take no as an answer. I feel msc security/ dock security should monitor this and actively reduce this annoyance. Now the ship is an absolute beautiful design. Really took our breath away. The mid ship sky screen shows and displays were very good. The shows onboard were very very good and thoughly entertaining. And at 30 mins I feel it was too short but understand with time restrictions for the program it has to be that way. I had no issues with my premium drinks package and recommend this is purchased. The staff were all very friendly and pleasant and had no bad experiences in the dining room with food or waiting staff. The cabin ( we had a balcony) was a nice size and I would say it was a slightly smaller than the average Travelodge room but pretty much the same layout. Tv channels were slightly limited ( but who comes on holiday to watch tv ). The safe is quite tiny and we couldn’t put our iPads in it. But it was simple to use. The Bed was very comfortable with two pillows. Balcony size ok. Mini bar idea not so good. .... it is not covered on the drinks package. I think to enjoy the balcony it would be good to use from mini bar to save having to go to the bar for purchasing drinks to carry back. Most drinks in there can be from the bar anyway. ( just saves borrowing and restocking ourselves the next day early). The spa is amazing and well worth the visit. Spent most days in there for a couple of hours recovering from our days walking. However on the sea day it got very busy. Maybe it would be good if msc only allowed the package deal only people to access on sea days and offer no day pass. ( could earn more money for them and balance the numbers out for spa visitors). With the numerous relaxation areas jacuzzis and steam/ sauna rooms and ice room. Not forgetting the emotional showers there are plenty of places to relax and rest. Never gambled before and the casino was an awesome experience. Staff very friendly and when it was quiet we asked how to use tables and all was explained very well. There are serious gamblers there, and people like us who had fun with between 10-30 Euros per visit. We actually visited most nights and actually walked away with more Euro’s than we started with. The water slides were fun to use, and the pools were relaxing. And the external hot tubs on the deck were very nice also. Anyone in two minds about first time cruising, I think the ship will give you the experience that will help decide if it’s for you. And as for us......... we will stick with msc and look out for more locations this ship will visit and try out the other ships in the fleet. We have been converted to a life of cruising for sure. Read Less
10 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
I wanted a smaller ship as I was travelling on my own. Having read previous reviews, most of which were positive, I decided to book it. The whole of the holiday was perfect from start to finish. I had a single cabin (1023) which was ... Read More
I wanted a smaller ship as I was travelling on my own. Having read previous reviews, most of which were positive, I decided to book it. The whole of the holiday was perfect from start to finish. I had a single cabin (1023) which was roomy and clean with modern decor. Plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. The entertainment, food, service and cleanliness of the ship was faultless. Comments with regard to ship being old are certainly true but it did not deter from the holiday itself. All the bars, dining rooms and communal areas were modern and tastefully decorated. I have travelled many times on several cruise lines in the past and I can honestly say, that I was not disappointed in any of the experiences on the Marella Dream. I would like to say a special thank you to the member of staff that certainly made my holiday memorable. A young 24 year old - Calum James Smith - with the title of social host. He was wonderful with shall I say the elderly ladies of the ship. Thank you for a lovely, relaxing holiday. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
I chose this cruise to get a little bit of sun, rather than sit at home watching the rain. This being my third time on Azura, I thought I knew what to expect. Embarkation went smoothly, and I was in my cabin swiftly. I noticed that the ... Read More
I chose this cruise to get a little bit of sun, rather than sit at home watching the rain. This being my third time on Azura, I thought I knew what to expect. Embarkation went smoothly, and I was in my cabin swiftly. I noticed that the plug in the basin was closed,and I wondered why. It didn't take me long to find the answer. I was on deck fourteen, but when I went to decks six and seven, THE SMELL OF RAW SEWAGE WAS OVERPOWERING !!!. Lots of people were complaining throughout the whole cruise. I spoke to reception desk about this,only to be told that they were aware of this problem, and they were working on it. Previous reviews that I have read have indicated that the problem has been on board the ship for some time. The Captain was never to be seen around the ship,except for photo shoots, nor was the chief Engineer,as I would have approached one of them to ask about the problem, which continued for the entire duration of the cruise.( I later found that the basin was kept plugged to prevent the smell entering my cabin). I dined in the restaurant on only three occasions,as the food was only lukewarm, and on one dinner the ribeye steak was so tough that three members at my table had to send it back. After that I dined at the buffet,where the food was Lukewarm too. The entertainment was mediocre,same old gags from old comedians. On one occasion the show was cancelled because of rough seas. To conclude, six sea days are too much,when the entertainment is poor. However if you like dancing,or quizzes,or overpriced bingo,or old movies then this ones for you. I won't be back on Azura! I have a Cruise booked on Brittania for next year,but I won't be going,unless P&o redress me for the disappointment that I endured on this cruise. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: March 2019
A fun and relaxing cruise. There is so much to do each day that I missed some activities...so much to do, so little time. I liked reading on deck with drink in hand. Never had an issue finding a place to lounge on deck or by the pool. ... Read More
A fun and relaxing cruise. There is so much to do each day that I missed some activities...so much to do, so little time. I liked reading on deck with drink in hand. Never had an issue finding a place to lounge on deck or by the pool. I heard the ship was full but it really didn’t seem that way. I never felt crowded, other than after the safety drill. Never waited for a reservation for restaurants or shows. I ate at all the specialty restaurants. Actually liked lacucina and tappenayke the best! Cagney’s rib steak was fatty with lots of fiber running through it. It was also raw in the middle (I asked for med-rare). The mature D offered to bring me something else and apologized. But I declined and went for the dessert. Bayamo was good, had the lobster, but service was slow. Apps and dessert were excellent! The main dining rooms were also very good! Loved breakfast at taste and savor! I would get a window table have a leisurely breakfast and read my book. Oh! Margaritaville was awesome! Great fish tacos! Traditional key lime pie! Also it was inexpensive! It was getting windy and I must have looked cold. The restaurant manager came over with a soft blue blanket and wrapped it around me. I was so impressed by this!! Excursions: did blue lagoon in Nassau. It was very nice but 5 ships were in port! It was a madhouse getting to the boat!! Very disorganized!! I left the island early to avoid the rush back to the ship. GSC was just wonderful. Lots of room and plenty of lounge chairs. That was very organized! Port Canaveral I didn’t get off the ship. Nothing to do there that interests me and the stay too short to do Disney or universal. They should have 12 hrs at the port. Service was impeccable! A little issue with customer service removing a double charge, but the hotel director corrected it immediately. Everyone is so friendly. My housekeeper was magical! The room was always clean, made up and bed turned down at night, and I never saw her! But left her a nice tip. I had a balcony near the aft elevators...great location! Read Less
Sail Date: March 2019
The ship was gorgeous. The Pro's Many things to love here. The food was phenomenal. And I loved the fact that most of it was casual, without the sometimes rigid seating arrangements and times I heard some cruise lines use. I ... Read More
The ship was gorgeous. The Pro's Many things to love here. The food was phenomenal. And I loved the fact that most of it was casual, without the sometimes rigid seating arrangements and times I heard some cruise lines use. I was able to eat about anytime I cared to in the complimentary dining fares. The specialty dining was by reservation which I understood. All of which I thought were first class. All the crew members in every aspect went out of their way to help and to serve. With that, I was extremely impressed and appreciative. Being disabled and on a scooter,they were prepared to make things as easy and uneventful as I thought were possible. Well done by the crew. The pool areas, the decks were pristinely maintained and entertainment was provided in which I enjoyed. There were shops on board, that were a bit upscale for my finances, but nice never the less. There was also an art exhibit with art that could be purchased. The Cons Being disabled and in a scooter was extremely challenging on accasions. Cabin area corridors were extremely narrow and at times difficult to navigate. Elevators were extremely difficult for myself and my scooter, as the elevator doors would attempt to close much too rapidly as I was attempted to embark and disembark. The cabin itself, although set up for a handicapped person, with wider doorways for wheelchairs and such, were still extremely difficult for navigation. However, I did manage. To me, the cost was the biggest problem on the con list. And unfortunately a huge consideration. Yes being disabled on a cruise ship can definately be a challenge, no doubt. But I travel alone, and when you travel alone, unfortunately you are subject to what I call up charges. What they are unrelated to how they list the prices, (per person) when you travel alone, you must pay subsidie charges, I suppose to make up for wht the cruise line ould have made if another person s traveling with you. So the bottom line is you I'll always pay more on line to wht couple would pay and you seem to get less. A huge negative in the con column for me as to whether I will be a returning customer. Read Less
Sail Date: March 2019
I'm a solo traveler, and would definitely take this tour again. It's my favorite Viking cruise to date! The Bordeaux region is fabulous - I'd recommend it whether or not you love wine! I'd highly recommend the ... Read More
I'm a solo traveler, and would definitely take this tour again. It's my favorite Viking cruise to date! The Bordeaux region is fabulous - I'd recommend it whether or not you love wine! I'd highly recommend the pre-cruise tour of the Loire Valley. All of the towns and villages throughout the cruise were so enjoyable - picking up a baguette from the local boulangerie and fresh cheeses at the fromagerie, picking out treats at the master chocolatiers, buying tulips for my room at the farmers market, and, of course, visiting wineries and top notch wine shops with a full range of France's finest beverage. That's not to diminish the cognac tour! Blending our own cognac was delightful. Also made some new friends who I've enjoyed connecting with since returning home. Also: * Embarking and disembarking was a breeze. * The ship's updated cabin was comfortable and efficient. * The crew was exceptionally energetic and fun! * The food did not disappoint - good variety and options, as usual! Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: March 2019
I had a cruise credit with NCL that was expiring. I selected this cruise for itinerary. The price was fair for two but I feel it unfair to double the rate for one person. I do not eat or require twice the food or service. The ... Read More
I had a cruise credit with NCL that was expiring. I selected this cruise for itinerary. The price was fair for two but I feel it unfair to double the rate for one person. I do not eat or require twice the food or service. The ports were good, service was very good. Shows were good since I rarely attend them, I managed to go to 4 out of the 10 and was surprised. The crew dance group were very good.. The food was good and open dining was quite easy with good selection of restaurants to choose from. The staff was very nice and always helpful. 80 countries represented. I have to comment on the room service charge ($7.95). This was a first for me, as in the past breakfast delivery has ALWAYS been free. I would recommend bringing a wrap as most of the time the public rooms were chilly. Overall it was a good cruise. Read Less
Sail Date: March 2019
So this cruise was a 5-night Tasmanian domestic cruise. We set sail Friday 22nd March. Check-in was smooth and this was the last time we checked-in where Carnival took our photo for their system. Our Sail and Sign cards were available ... Read More
So this cruise was a 5-night Tasmanian domestic cruise. We set sail Friday 22nd March. Check-in was smooth and this was the last time we checked-in where Carnival took our photo for their system. Our Sail and Sign cards were available reasonably quickly outside our room. We got into our rooms and checked the Funtimes which didn't indicate Port Arthur as a stop. It listed a changed itinerary and an extra sea day. hmm, this was strange. Anyway, we thought they'd make an announcement after everyone boarded. There was no announcement so afterwards, I went to guest services and confirmed the itinerary had indeed changed due to poor weather. I told the guy we never got anything official. He printed out an advisory which we were supposed to have received in our room but didn't. I wasn't upset but just wanted something official in case I'd claim on my insurance for a missed port day. Anyway, due to the missed port day at Port Arthur we stopped at Hobart that day and Carnival put on free buses for those that wanted to travel to Port Arthur. that was an excellent response from Carnival and I'm happy our captain made the decision not hit rough weather for the sake of a day at Port Arthur. The change in itinerary doesn't factor into this review as Carnival are not responsible for the weather but how they deal with it which they did well. I'd never been to Hobart but we did a private tour. Hobart is a great little town. On this cruise, we didn't really watch any of the shows except a few comedy shows. One comedian conceded this was his first cruise and so wasn't all that great. We got to do Nouveau again for not only dinner but also long lunch at sea. Again. great value for dinner but long lunch at sea was so worth it. $35 for long lunch at sea was excellent. We also go the seafood plater thinking it was just an upgrade ($20) but it was actually in addition to the menu which had seafood as well. There was so much food, I don't think I had dinner! The seafood was fresh, delicious and plentiful. I don't eat much lobster, but this was incredible. We also got the matching wines ($20). The staff at Nouveau were excellent and courteous. This was also our first cruise where escargot was no longer offered at Nouveau. This was also the first time we had Your Time Dining in Empire but wouldn't choose it again. Often, we'd need to wait in line just to get a buzzer and then wait again for the pager to go off. We also like to idea of having the same table staff each cruise. I had an issue with a barwaiter who was a little rude but most of the other staff were excellent. I'd also find bar staff would pour the more expensive Chivas Scotch rather than Dewars and not ask my preference. They're just trying to pump up their commissions. Since our last cruise on Spirit (January 2018), we noticed somethings have been refurbished such as new upholstery in La Playa Grille, a coffee shop at Serenity and the Warehouse as an addition. Soul Play has taken over the area where the art auctions were. Our room was clean and as expected. Everything worked as expected without any surprises. Overall, it was a good cruise and we'd done a few things we never got a chance to attend such as the Nouveau cooking demonstration and Behind the Fun. I was sort of glad to have gotten off as I needed a break from all the fun, drink and food! Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: March 2019
I'm platinum on NCL and Carnival. I prefer not to fly so I generally cruise out of NY or Baltimore. I chose this cruise as it was my 50th bday and didn't want to do the usual 7 day cruise to the Bahamas. I took my entire ... Read More
I'm platinum on NCL and Carnival. I prefer not to fly so I generally cruise out of NY or Baltimore. I chose this cruise as it was my 50th bday and didn't want to do the usual 7 day cruise to the Bahamas. I took my entire family on this trip (8 of us) and 3 friends came as well. I upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite on the private Haven floor, room 14006. My family, friends, and I had an excellent time. The food was great. Service in the Grand Pacific dining room the 1st night didn't go so well, but we'll chuck it up to our large group and 1st cruise night issues. My only 2 complaints are: 1. They skipped the last port of St Thomas Mon 3/25/19 because they were expecting a storm on Wednesday and wanted to get ahead of it. Other passengers stated they were on this same cruise before and the same thing supposedly happened. 2. We were supposed to arrive back in NY at 10am. I had hired a limo service to pick us up at 11am. We arrived in NY at 6am and they MADE us get off the ship BY 10am (the time we were SUPPOSED to arrive) so my family and friends had to stand outside for over an hour in 40 degree cold waiting for our ride from PA because NCL didn't stick to their own itinerary & because the inside terminal was closed due to the ship not picking up any new passengers as the ship was repositioning to Boston. This was my 7th time on the NCL Gem. I enjoy this ship. I truly enjoy the Haven and have sailed in that type of room often. I did have an excellent 50th birthday, my family truly enjoyed themselves. However an otherwise perfect cruise was tainted by an inconvenient, avoidable, and frustrating debarkation. Read Less
Sail Date: March 2019
I have only cruised one other cruise line prior to this one, OMG was it different. Debarkation was horrible and the bed in my cabin slept like I made a pallet on a mountain of rock. The bed separated down the middle and made it very ... Read More
I have only cruised one other cruise line prior to this one, OMG was it different. Debarkation was horrible and the bed in my cabin slept like I made a pallet on a mountain of rock. The bed separated down the middle and made it very uncomfortable and restless. I was pretty tired and had back pain when I got back. On another note mostly everything else was good. I liked the cleanliness of every place even the restrooms outside of our rooms, and the buffet dining areas. KUDOS!!! THE FOOD WAS AMAZING!!!!! The beverage and dining packages were an added plus, we were able to try some exceptional cuisine. Being that this was my first Norwegian cruise I had no idea that I had to book my dining or entertainment prior to the cruise for optimum access, but I won't make that mistake again. I wanted to try so many things that were sold out like Escape the big top, send the cirque dinner show ( I paid 47.00 but the show's after mine were 36 dollars) I heard no idea why. My first NCL experience wasn't bad, the bed situation took it down a little because I had to work on my back when I got back, but overall the experience was pretty good. Read Less
Sail Date: March 2019
I booked the Sun cruise just two weeks before flying to Santiago, Chile to start this unique, fabulous memory 16 day cruise. I was also leaving the next day to fly to LAS from FL for a couple of days and then on to LAX to go on the NCL ... Read More
I booked the Sun cruise just two weeks before flying to Santiago, Chile to start this unique, fabulous memory 16 day cruise. I was also leaving the next day to fly to LAS from FL for a couple of days and then on to LAX to go on the NCL Star for a 8 day Mexican Riviera cruise, so I only had 5 days at home between these two fabulous cruises. Both of these cruises were enhanced with perfect weather, especially with all the time I was out on the top deck taking in (and capturing photos) the crossing of the Panama Canal. Our ports in Peru were eye openers to me with the poor living conditions. I had opportunities to go inside their churches - they were simple but also beautiful. As in almost all my cruises with NCL, I met wonderful, interesting and friendly people - both as other passengers and employees. As a solo, senior, female that is very important to me. The Star was even more enjoyable (SO many great eating areas with the Garden Cafe) than when I was on her back in September of 2016 for a 14 day repositioning from Copenhagen to Denmark doing Norway, Faroe and Shetland Islands, Iceland, Scotland and Dublin (my favorite). I DO enjoy NCL cruising! Read Less
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
If you like being herded on huge ships, this is not for you. If you enjoy dodging electric carts on board, this is not for you. If you want to be in a crowded theatre, this is not for you. If you like to pay extra to get the best dining ... Read More
If you like being herded on huge ships, this is not for you. If you enjoy dodging electric carts on board, this is not for you. If you want to be in a crowded theatre, this is not for you. If you like to pay extra to get the best dining selections, this is not for you. If you take youthful children and have someone entertain them, this is not for you. If you need to stop a large, overcrowded ports with multiple trinket store, this is not for you. If you’re a couch potato, this is not for you. If you need to be hoisted by an elevator, this is not for you. However, there are a multitude of reason to consider the Star Clippers and, especially, the Royal Clipper. First, it’s very comfortable to be on a ship where the staff and most passengers know your name. It’s nice to be served by professionally educated and trained personnel. It’s nice to be entertained by wonderful local musicians. It’s exciting to see 5,400 sq.ft of sails be unfurled and set. It’s relaxing to feel the ocean breeze and the sea spray. It’s fun to visit small ports and have access to beautiful beaches. It’s amazing to look up at any of the five masts that are neatly 180 ft. high and be able to climb to a crow’s nest 75 ft. above the deck. It’s nice to be casually dressed every evening. It’s nice to have a wide selection of delicious choice at every meal. It’s nice to pay $3.50 for beer and wine and under $6.00 for mixed drinks. It’s nice to have so many water sports available from a ramp that is lowered from the stern. It’s nice to know that more than half of the passengers have been aboard the Royal Clipper previously. It’s nice from the beautiful maroon mahogany paneling to the special dinnerware. The niceties go on and on. Yes, we will be back for many more adventures on The Royal Clipper. I have taken 30 other cruises, most on the most luxurious, and have visited 93 countries. I have found the niche that I enjoy most. Ahoy, mate! Read Less
Sail Date: March 2019
I have been travelling on the NCL Epic since 2013 as the ship suits my needs if and when I am travelling alone. I simply love the studio cabins and lounge. I appreciate the fact that you can dine as a group in the evening, having ... Read More
I have been travelling on the NCL Epic since 2013 as the ship suits my needs if and when I am travelling alone. I simply love the studio cabins and lounge. I appreciate the fact that you can dine as a group in the evening, having previously experienced whilst travelling alone some good but sadly more often than not some "not so good" dining experiences. I love chatting to others but don't necessary want to spend the whole cruise with them or for people to feel sorry for me because I am alone and it is nice to speak to like minded people. I have also met and kept in touch with others over the years often meeting up again. Personally I wish they would perhaps change the itinerary on the EPIC as after my next trip I will have I think "done it all", I am due on my 11th or 12th cruise on this ship shortly. The studio cabins I must admit are getting ready for a face lift, doors missing and beginning to look tatty. Some of the "team organisers" also I think, try too hard sometimes in their pursuit to "organise" the solos, with games etc but apparently they need the good reviews. I cannot believe after reading cruise reviews that people are still complaining about the other cabins on this ship regarding the sink and bathroom set up. Yes its different and yes it has proved not so good and for that reason I believe no other ships were designed like that. Since I have been travelling on this ship and the introduction of the drinks package there are more lines for the bar but that is life I suppose. My only serious complaint with the ship is that since the "taking off your own luggage" was introduced and become so popular it is frankly a nightmare disembarking the EPIC. I agree with an earlier review in that I think it is dangerous. I am surprised they have not sorted this out by now. Perhaps stopping this practice altogether. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
I have done 53 cruises and this would be in the top 5. Every thing was great,. The staff was fantastic. They soon learned your name. The Pantry food was great. Especially the asian soups which was special. The Waterfront restaurant was ... Read More
I have done 53 cruises and this would be in the top 5. Every thing was great,. The staff was fantastic. They soon learned your name. The Pantry food was great. Especially the asian soups which was special. The Waterfront restaurant was so-so.and the speciality dinning was ordinary but cheap at $30 Lots of kids on this cruise 470. Lots of young couples. A old and dated ship but lots of character. The smallest balcony I have ever had, about a meter wide. Then cabin was good, clean and well maintained. Entertainment was fantastic, great broadway shows. Comedian was great. When you consider the cost which was cheap as a sole passenger. It was value for money and I would do it a again and again. The staff made the cruise they were exceptional I loved them. The Orient bar had the cheapest beer on tap I'm have ever had $6 a schooner. I would recommend this ship. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
This was my second time aboard Oasis. I am Diamond and a single traveler. Embarkation at Port Canaveral is pretty seamless albeit crowded. This cruise was taken during spring break and there were many family, young children and teens ... Read More
This was my second time aboard Oasis. I am Diamond and a single traveler. Embarkation at Port Canaveral is pretty seamless albeit crowded. This cruise was taken during spring break and there were many family, young children and teens aboard. Overall this was not a concern. Because of the size of Oasis, privacy is sometimes are to find. The Solarium is the best place for adults to sit and relax since it restricted to 18+. You can get breakfast and lunch there as well. First stop was Nassau..did not bother to get off the ship. Not a fan of the port Charlotte Amalie..excursion to ST John’s. Nice boat ride to the island and very informative. The bus tour was aboard a crowded open air vehicle. Made several scenic stops. If you had never been to St John’s this might be for you. St Martin: a tour not to miss!! Royal Fun Family Food Tour!! This was a small (16 people) group We made three food stops: Cheese House where we made and tasted four kinds of Gouda cheese made into Mac and cheese and plentiful champagne; stop two was an eclectic restaurant on the French side called GutSide Restaurant where wwe were treated to a delicious spiced pumpkin soup and a portion of jerk chicken that was outstanding prepared for us by the owner - this place has to be seen; the final stop was at the Carousel Ice cream store where we made Gelato hosted by the owners (Diego and Stella) and were treated to a ride on their full sized carousel. Not to be missed. Oasis also has more than one location for Diamond and above...one on deck 11 and another in Blaze (very quiet and not crowded at all). This makes it very easy to meet and chat. Overall: because Oasis is so huge, you will likely find the main promenade busy most of the time. Shops open only during at sea of course but most bars are open after 9 or 10. The pool areas are as expected crowded and noisy especially around the kids pool. Chair “saving” is actually watched and enforced for a change. I did not use the Windjammer buffet except for breakfast the last day. It was crowded but no lines. A couple of hints: embarkation day - go to Central Park to grab a quick bite.not a hectic as Windjammer. Try the Wipe Out Cafe for breakfast - made to order omelets and eggs plus a soft ice cream machine. The Oasis is as much an experience as it is a cruise. Once may be enuf for most folks but if you want to try it, you should. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
This was our 27th cruise, 1st-time Celebrity Cruise. We couldn't have been happier. My husband and I are 52 years old, we have no kids. I love to have options when we travel. On a cruise there is always the option to do nothing, ... Read More
This was our 27th cruise, 1st-time Celebrity Cruise. We couldn't have been happier. My husband and I are 52 years old, we have no kids. I love to have options when we travel. On a cruise there is always the option to do nothing, however, there is not always the option to do everything (except for now!). The Celebrity Edge, aside from the fact that it's absolutely modern and gorgeous, it was so much fun! We were worried about the fun. We had the preconceived notion that this was a company for retirees, people who like it "quiet". This ship had more fun going on than do I dare say it...The Fun ships??!! It did. But there are plenty of quiet spaces as well. Newest movies every night are played at the Rooftop Garden around 10-10:30pm. Multiple Trivia thru-out every single day. Loads of entertainments everywhere, from live singers & bands to the shows in the evening. But my absolute favorite...Silent Disco. Fun for all ages, it's hysterical to watch and a blast to participate in. There is so much going on, it was actually hard to fit it all in. The food was excellent. The 4 main dining rooms were beautiful, try to eat each one if you can, the menus vary slightly per dining room. Le Petite Chef was fun, and delicious, and did I mention fun?? Service was above and beyond, and I'm picky. We had an oceanview room at 200sq ft. and it was very comfortable. 50-55" interactive flat panel TVs on the wall. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Bottom line we loved it and we booked 2 more future cruises while on board. Hopefully, you'll love it too. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
My family and I went on a carnival cruise. (freedom) We didn't like the high pressure sales, the fact that how whenever you would buy a drink the tip would already be added on (I noticed on the 3rd day of the cruise), we had tons of ... Read More
My family and I went on a carnival cruise. (freedom) We didn't like the high pressure sales, the fact that how whenever you would buy a drink the tip would already be added on (I noticed on the 3rd day of the cruise), we had tons of money charged to my moms credit card. There was already a tip of 70 plus dollars for our "team" on the cruise. There was ONE person who made my experience on the Carnival Freedom amazing. She is a playlist performer on the carnival freedom and other carnival ships. Her name is Victoria and she always said "hey" and would wave at me whenever she would see me. If you go on the Carnival Freedom be aware it is a party ship. Not made for older couples or family with newborns. If you go on a cruise from Galveston be prepared for long waits and being split up from your family. My aunt is disabled and they split us up when getting on the ship. On the way back we made sure we didn't get split up. The only reason we didn't get split up on the way back was because my mom made sure they knew we would not be split up. We told the lady we would not have it any other way. They also had LGBTQ mixers almost every night along with singles mixers. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
Everything was incredible!! They make you feel like family and you never want to leave the ship! The food was world class and the service on the ship was otherworldly, the drinks on board were incredible and allowed you to venture into a ... Read More
Everything was incredible!! They make you feel like family and you never want to leave the ship! The food was world class and the service on the ship was otherworldly, the drinks on board were incredible and allowed you to venture into a whole other culture and a whole other world of excitement! It is a wonderful mix of people and every passenger on board was so fun and excited and so sweet to everyone else. The stage shows that they put on our like a broadway musical and the performers can sing with the best of them! They have a full range of things for you to do whether it’s hanging by the 5 pools and jacuzzi’s they have, learning about the many secrets of pirate treasure, world class shopping with incredible deals, or anything else you can think of, there is never ever a dull moment. Everything was so smooth especially with their new medallion you use for everything!! It is the best thing out there!! 100% recommend!!! Read Less
Sail Date: March 2019
Why is the photos so expensive. When you dont buy it they throw all away?? Their are many people that look at the photos but dont buy. It is very nice pictures but really expensive. Think about cheaper prices as to throw everything away.. ... Read More
Why is the photos so expensive. When you dont buy it they throw all away?? Their are many people that look at the photos but dont buy. It is very nice pictures but really expensive. Think about cheaper prices as to throw everything away.. The food staff rooms and entertainment is very nice. On our 2 nd trip their was also more fish available. Deserts and so many of a variety of fruits were avaible. Cocktail of the day was also our favourite The staff is helpfull and friendly. We enjoy all the entertainment . We did not see the Sokkie singers too much to mingle with them as it would have been nice. On Portuguese Iland with all the changes and enough shades was awesome. We will definitely go on another cruise. Prices is resonible. Their is 1 more last thing. The hairdryer does not work as the laat time Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise