Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
No reason for this port . Dirty Polluted. Stay on board. Virtually all other passengers regardless of excursion agreed.
No reason for this port . Dirty Polluted. Stay on board. Virtually all other passengers regardless of excursion agreed. Read Less
11 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
It was interesting so we’re glad we went but it’s being developed, probably over developed, and it’s like a huge building site with Chinese companies throwing up hotels everywhere. The people were lovely though.
It was interesting so we’re glad we went but it’s being developed, probably over developed, and it’s like a huge building site with Chinese companies throwing up hotels everywhere. The people were lovely though. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
Having read Lonely Planet advice we gave this one one a miss. When the excursions offered include a tuk-tuk ride (for 20 times the price of hiring direct) you know there's not too much going on. Beware overpriced NCL visas - arrange ... Read More
Having read Lonely Planet advice we gave this one one a miss. When the excursions offered include a tuk-tuk ride (for 20 times the price of hiring direct) you know there's not too much going on. Beware overpriced NCL visas - arrange yours ahead if going here. Read Less
17 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2019
We took the courtesy bus to the beach. Sihanoukville is in a a very poor area although there is a lot of Chinese investment being poured in which will make a considerable difference. The beachfront area wasn't the best but we sytill ... Read More
We took the courtesy bus to the beach. Sihanoukville is in a a very poor area although there is a lot of Chinese investment being poured in which will make a considerable difference. The beachfront area wasn't the best but we sytill had a relaxing time there. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2019
This port is complicated. The people and the place are wonderful. However, it presents as a third-world country. I travel the world to experience how other cultures and peoples differ from my own experience of the world…so, I found ... Read More
This port is complicated. The people and the place are wonderful. However, it presents as a third-world country. I travel the world to experience how other cultures and peoples differ from my own experience of the world…so, I found it fascinating. That said, a number of our shipmates were VERY put off by the squalor, apparent poverty and trash-filled streets/beaches. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: December 2018
The ship shuttle bus drops us near a market downtown. We enjoyed walking along the street near the market but didn't spend too much time in the market as the heat/smells were overwhelming the market.
The ship shuttle bus drops us near a market downtown. We enjoyed walking along the street near the market but didn't spend too much time in the market as the heat/smells were overwhelming the market. Read Less
18 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: November 2018
This port is a joke. There is zero port facilities, except a shuttle bus that takes you to downtown Sihanoukville. We were dropped off in a dirty, ugly and chaotic open air market. Walking on what looks like a sidewalk is downright ... Read More
This port is a joke. There is zero port facilities, except a shuttle bus that takes you to downtown Sihanoukville. We were dropped off in a dirty, ugly and chaotic open air market. Walking on what looks like a sidewalk is downright dangerous because it’s uneven and muddy; motor bikes and scooters can travel anywhere they like, including sidewalks. Before you even get off the bus, tour venders bombard you with local tours. But with the chaotic traffic, how would I know that they could bring us back before the ship departs? Many of our fellow cruisers didn’t even get off the shuttle bus. Some were a little braver and took a walk for several blocks before getting the next available bus back to the ship. This port is totally unprepared for cruise passengers, and they don’t even seem to care. As I said, it’s a joke, and it’s an expensive joke at that, since most passengers have to pay for a visa, even if they decide to stay on the ship the whole time. Read Less
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: February 2018
Cambodja is not much developed. Roads are in terrible conditions and it is very dirty. There was a shuttle from the pier to some square. Here a number of TukTuk drivers offered there services. We started on $80 for a TukTuk the entire day ... Read More
Cambodja is not much developed. Roads are in terrible conditions and it is very dirty. There was a shuttle from the pier to some square. Here a number of TukTuk drivers offered there services. We started on $80 for a TukTuk the entire day but baargained down to $50. Still probably a high price for cambodia! We went to the waterfall which took about 45 minutes. The road was sometimes none existing and we had to get of and push the tuktuk out of the mud. also there was two "tolls" we're we had to pay some guy sitting in a hammok money for unclear reasons. Anyway the waterfall was soo beautiful it was woth all hazzle! Then we went to the beuatiful Otres beach and had a great lunch including beer for just $4. Finally the market which was an interesting experience Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2018
We just took the bus into Sihanoukville. A depressing city, with unrelenting hawkers trying to get us to take a tour. Once again, I think there may be more to see than we did, so I would recommend a tour, rather than just being dropped ... Read More
We just took the bus into Sihanoukville. A depressing city, with unrelenting hawkers trying to get us to take a tour. Once again, I think there may be more to see than we did, so I would recommend a tour, rather than just being dropped in the town. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2018
How well off our we. Home visit was very eye opening again, the kids at school and then the opposite of the scale rich and pampered
How well off our we. Home visit was very eye opening again, the kids at school and then the opposite of the scale rich and pampered Read Less
Sail Date: January 2018
Went to beach..massages..great. The town is less than desirable but had great meal at Sandan - look it up online..great charity looking after kids. Teaching people to be in the hospitality industry..great idea..support it.
Went to beach..massages..great. The town is less than desirable but had great meal at Sandan - look it up online..great charity looking after kids. Teaching people to be in the hospitality industry..great idea..support it. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2017
Not much to see here. Just the market and a walk about town. The few temples we visited were unremarkable.
Not much to see here. Just the market and a walk about town. The few temples we visited were unremarkable. Read Less
15 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: February 2017
We took the free shuttle provided by the city to the central market. Though the ship was in port until 9:00PM, the last shuttle back was much earlier: 4PM if I remember correctly. Tuk-tuk drivers surround the bus when it arrives trying to ... Read More
We took the free shuttle provided by the city to the central market. Though the ship was in port until 9:00PM, the last shuttle back was much earlier: 4PM if I remember correctly. Tuk-tuk drivers surround the bus when it arrives trying to get customers. You can negociate fair prices. For us, it was enough time. We took a tuk-tuk around town and it took us to 2 temples and 3 beaches, which are the highlights of the town. The market was an experience as well! Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: February 2017
Not a lot to do here. Small, poor fishing village with nice beaches, and the only deep-water port in Cambodia. Took a great full-day private tour with Sihanouk Ville seaside tours.
Not a lot to do here. Small, poor fishing village with nice beaches, and the only deep-water port in Cambodia. Took a great full-day private tour with Sihanouk Ville seaside tours. Read Less
9 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2017
Sihanoukville has a nice temple. The reptile house is actually a pretty depressing zoo, I wouldn't recommend it. We used it as the place to fly to Siem Reap
Sihanoukville has a nice temple. The reptile house is actually a pretty depressing zoo, I wouldn't recommend it. We used it as the place to fly to Siem Reap Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise

Other Cruise Line Cruise Reviews from Sihanoukville

Other Cruise Styles from Sihanoukville Reviews