Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: October 2017
Loved the island would love to visit it again feel the fee of $16.00 for trip to the beach exorbitant
Loved the island would love to visit it again feel the fee of $16.00 for trip to the beach exorbitant Read Less
14 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2017
Máre, Loyalty Islands, New Caledonia Máre is a beautiful island that is quite primitive and the major feature is the lovely landscape and Yedjele Beach. The cruise ship sells a $16 RT pass from Tadine to the beach, but I would wait ... Read More
Máre, Loyalty Islands, New Caledonia Máre is a beautiful island that is quite primitive and the major feature is the lovely landscape and Yedjele Beach. The cruise ship sells a $16 RT pass from Tadine to the beach, but I would wait until the day of the visit in case of inclement weather. The water was quite chilly in late October (73 degrees F), but lying in the numerous shaded beach areas was lovely. Bring that sunscreen! Yedjele Beach is really lovely and has the reputation as being one of the best beaches in the world with the clean white sand and many trees nearby. The snorkeling was reported as good but not the best. The locals run stands mostly selling food (chicken and rice, fruits, banana cakes, snacks, and drink items (beer, water, soda.) They accept both US and AUS $. (Soda was $4 and beer $5). Many people who did not want to venture to a chilly beach hiked down the road from the port. There appeared to be many interesting photo opportunities along the road and coastal area of Lifou. It is advised that you do not attempt to wonder into their villages as they are considered off-limits to tourists. There is a grocery store at the port area that isn’t very obvious. Friends reported that it was very interesting, but that the owner only accepted the local Franc and was not helpful in converting the costs to AUS or USA dollars. A crew member had rented a scooter and wiped out on the road as we returned on the bus back to the port. He was reportedly taken to the hospital and treated which resulted in a delayed departure for the ship. There are two structures where locals sell souvenirs and both US and AUS dollars were accepted. One stand offered vanilla products from the vanilla plantation in Lifou that I wasn’t able to go to, so that worked out great for me! BTW- the coastal areas around Máre and Lifou are national park areas and do not allow private boats so unlike other islands and ports, you will not see sailboats or small commercial vessels. A review with photos can be found on my website under "Australia" www.donnagawell.com Read Less
21 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2017
There was a swimming area just near the end of the pier where the ship’s tender docked in Tadine, where a ladder had been put into the water for easy access. There were concrete ramps, but they looked to be very slippery. This early in ... Read More
There was a swimming area just near the end of the pier where the ship’s tender docked in Tadine, where a ladder had been put into the water for easy access. There were concrete ramps, but they looked to be very slippery. This early in the day, there wasn’t much going on – there was a sort of “tourist desk” where a three stop, one hour tour was offered, with the opportunity for a drop off at Yejele Beach to catch the ship’s shuttle back. The tour was $A20 – supposedly for an hour but ours was a little longer than that. The only tour offered by the P&O Pacific Explorer was to Yejele Beach at $A9.50 each way - $A19 return. The ideal option would be to do the local land tour, drop off at the beach and return with a one way P&O shuttle ticket. As it was only early, I was the only one listed to do the tour so to fill in time I walked around the parking area – I did ask if any of the drivers standing around did tours, but they seemed to have no English, and were talking in their local language – I didn’t hear any recognisable French. About 8.45 I walked in the opposite direction and came across a church like building and then a group of locals, women and teenagers, preparing food to be cooked in the traditional way in the ground. The idea was for the school children to interact and practice their English. I could see yams, tomatoes, spring onions, shredded coconut and a small chicken. Unfortunately I was unable to stay to see the cooking as I wanted to get back to see how my tour was filling up. This took a long time and the tour finally left at 10am, with another 8 and then finally thanks to a group of 9 Chinese who made the trip viable. We travelled in a new Mercedes Mini Bus with Jean Claude (a larger than life personality!) as our guide and Emile as our driver. Our first stop was at the natural aquarium, about 2km from the town. This is a shallow almost landlocked area where the fish come to be fed with bread brought along by Emile. There were many types of fish, at times there is also an eel and occasionally an octopus, but not today. There is coral of sorts, unfortunately most of it was dead, due to people climbing down and swimming/walking on it. A little further along we had another photo stop – a jagged, rocky coast and still no beach, but beautiful colours in the water. Another stop did yield a tiny beach, a little way from where we were parked and I was the only one who walked to it. Our next stop was at Emile’s village where the locals had set up a small food stall by the roadside. I bought a coconut (they cut it open for me) to drink $A3, but I didn’t bother to eat the young flesh as I also selected a tray with papaya, coconut, and finely sliced baked pumpkin to eat – that took care of $2 so I didn’t have to worry about change from my $A5 note. Lots of people had the coconut, but not so many had the fruits. There was a group of young boys hanging around the bus, the youngest one kept climbing in! One of the boys was wearing boots a few sizes too big for him and a couple of the boys were eating chips and hot dogs with tomato sauce! There were many different types of houses – large and small, but the interesting ones to me, were the thatched ones – sometimes round, sometimes square and sometimes rectangular. When we arrived at Yejele Beach everyone got off but me! Some negotiated with Jean Claude for a return pick-up time (they had no P&O shuttle tickets) and others had the P&O shuttle bus tickets. I would have liked to had time to see the beach, but Jean Claude wanted to get back to Tadine, where there was quite a crowd waiting for the next trip. Contact details for Jean Claude: enokajeanclaude@gmail.com or phone (687) 87 83 62 or Emile (687) 95 65 97. After saying goodbye, I walked back along the road, hoping maybe that the school children might still be there with their cooking, but all was deserted. I decided to continue to see the “caves” mentioned earlier by some passengers who had been to Mare previously. They said it was about 1km, and I would know them when I saw them – I didn’t know quite what to expect. As it was the walk was just under 20 minutes (old lady time) and after coming to a rise in the road, I saw a large cleared area on the left – a future parking area perhaps? And yes, there were the “caves” - limestone like formations in the cliffs beside the road. They did not appear to be very deep. If some of the shrubbery was cleared away, one could get a really good look at them. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2017
not user friendly at all....perhaps look at other island with more to do. If not going on expensive 40 min return bus trip to beach you may as well stay on board as there is nothing else to d here.;
not user friendly at all....perhaps look at other island with more to do. If not going on expensive 40 min return bus trip to beach you may as well stay on board as there is nothing else to d here.; Read Less
14 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2017
It was really lovely. We had a later breakfast and then got on a tender. Took the bus to Yejele Beach. We walked along the beach but found a lot of blue bottles. The kids started to swim but my husband found a blue bottle swimming close so ... Read More
It was really lovely. We had a later breakfast and then got on a tender. Took the bus to Yejele Beach. We walked along the beach but found a lot of blue bottles. The kids started to swim but my husband found a blue bottle swimming close so they jumped out and built sand castles instead. There were a lot of people swimming further away from us but everyone's. Our group decided that we would read on the beach and relax before heading back to the markets before going back to the ship. Was also a nice place and I'm sure we would have been fine if we had swum with others further up the beach. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2017
Just walked around for a while. Dogs with sores on their heads were everywhere. People didnt seem friendly at all. Not impressed with this place at all.
Just walked around for a while. Dogs with sores on their heads were everywhere. People didnt seem friendly at all. Not impressed with this place at all. Read Less
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2017
One of the most Beautiful Beaches I have been to - Loved my time there.
One of the most Beautiful Beaches I have been to - Loved my time there. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2017
The beach was nice. Bit of a bus ride to get there but ok once there. Very white sand and plenty of local stalls to buy stuff if you want.
The beach was nice. Bit of a bus ride to get there but ok once there. Very white sand and plenty of local stalls to buy stuff if you want. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2017
You need to take the $20 bus to the beach, nothing really to do at the wharf although I did see a few people swimming. About a 15-20 minute bus ride.
You need to take the $20 bus to the beach, nothing really to do at the wharf although I did see a few people swimming. About a 15-20 minute bus ride. Read Less
27 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: February 2017
Worst tendering experience ever. The tender did not lineup properly with the dock and passengers had to be physically shoved up one metre to get onto the dock. Very dangerous
Worst tendering experience ever. The tender did not lineup properly with the dock and passengers had to be physically shoved up one metre to get onto the dock. Very dangerous Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise