Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2019
Fort Ambercrombie Fort hike and tour was fun and VERY informative. The guide's husband works for NFS and she was friendly, knowledgeable and just a fun tour even in the mist. We even got to hike the "moss trail" which ... Read More
Fort Ambercrombie Fort hike and tour was fun and VERY informative. The guide's husband works for NFS and she was friendly, knowledgeable and just a fun tour even in the mist. We even got to hike the "moss trail" which isn't usually included. So glad I didn't have to live in one of the huts located there during WWII Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2019
Nothing wrong with a visit here, but I was so chilly that I went back to the ship early. Be sure to go to the visitors' center - they have really made a special effort to be informative. This is where you can learn about bears. ... Read More
Nothing wrong with a visit here, but I was so chilly that I went back to the ship early. Be sure to go to the visitors' center - they have really made a special effort to be informative. This is where you can learn about bears. Unlike most visitor centers, this one wasn't constantly hawking things for you to buy, Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: July 2018
Great weather and Fort Abercrombie was really interested and spotted a pod of killer whales while I was there.
Great weather and Fort Abercrombie was really interested and spotted a pod of killer whales while I was there. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
The offered a 45 minute Flightsee, some of the flights saw a couple of bears from great distance, we did not, planes were small float planes and uncomfortable. they offered a walking tour to town to see the cannery but no wildlife despite ... Read More
The offered a 45 minute Flightsee, some of the flights saw a couple of bears from great distance, we did not, planes were small float planes and uncomfortable. they offered a walking tour to town to see the cannery but no wildlife despite it being booked as a wildlife tour. When I question the expidition leader, I was told he felt it was not safe to walk outside of town Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2018
Kodiak was a friendly town with some lovely shops. Make sure to go see the Russian Orthodox Church. Lookup as well since their are lots of eagles that perch. If you are a quilter there is a lovely shop that caters to quilters.
Kodiak was a friendly town with some lovely shops. Make sure to go see the Russian Orthodox Church. Lookup as well since their are lots of eagles that perch. If you are a quilter there is a lovely shop that caters to quilters. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2017
The tour that includes the Russian Tea was a very pleasant one. It is operated by a local woman in a mini-bus and allowed us to see much of the town as well as hear her stories of life in Kodiak,
The tour that includes the Russian Tea was a very pleasant one. It is operated by a local woman in a mini-bus and allowed us to see much of the town as well as hear her stories of life in Kodiak, Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2016
Excellent excursion with Marty and Marion Harbor Tour. LOTS of sea life. Small excursion with just 6 passengers.
Excellent excursion with Marty and Marion Harbor Tour. LOTS of sea life. Small excursion with just 6 passengers. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2016
Booked independent excursion with MemoryMakers. He was able to accommodate our last-minute request with a later tour. Interesting and fun.
Booked independent excursion with MemoryMakers. He was able to accommodate our last-minute request with a later tour. Interesting and fun. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2016
The tour we wanted was full, so we walked the town. Good museum and churches to see. I think this is an "up and coming" port and they should offer more tours because it is gorgeous.
The tour we wanted was full, so we walked the town. Good museum and churches to see. I think this is an "up and coming" port and they should offer more tours because it is gorgeous. Read Less
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2016
Kodiak is a nice small town, easy to walk around. They had good souvenir and other shops. There was a good craft show in the Tribal Council Hall.
Kodiak is a nice small town, easy to walk around. They had good souvenir and other shops. There was a good craft show in the Tribal Council Hall. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2019
The only tour we could get was a 1 hour panoramic tour which we did towards the end of teh day. It was however easy to walk into town (a shuttle ws also available) and look at the marina, shops and also the nearby Near Island which had ... Read More
The only tour we could get was a 1 hour panoramic tour which we did towards the end of teh day. It was however easy to walk into town (a shuttle ws also available) and look at the marina, shops and also the nearby Near Island which had nice views and some wildlife. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: September 2018
We booked a Bear Viewing with Sea Hawk Air. It was fabulous. It was not offered by the ship.
We booked a Bear Viewing with Sea Hawk Air. It was fabulous. It was not offered by the ship. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: August 2018
Probably our least favourite port but still enjoyable. We used the local taxi service.
Probably our least favourite port but still enjoyable. We used the local taxi service. Read Less
20 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
Ours was called The Taste of Kodiak, and consisted of a walking tour to 6 different establishments to sample their wares. My only complaint was the 2-mile walk into town to begin the tour - and 2-miles back to the ship!
Ours was called The Taste of Kodiak, and consisted of a walking tour to 6 different establishments to sample their wares. My only complaint was the 2-mile walk into town to begin the tour - and 2-miles back to the ship! Read Less
Sail Date: February 2018
They were having a Crab Festival the day we stopped so it was very good. The Coast Guard did a demonstration of life saving procedures and rescue demonstration.
They were having a Crab Festival the day we stopped so it was very good. The Coast Guard did a demonstration of life saving procedures and rescue demonstration. Read Less
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2017
Some people complained the excursion was an expensive walk in some damp woods with a guide just out of high school, but our half-day hike was welcome exercise, and the chance to see the Kodiak War Museum on its beautiful lonely promontory ... Read More
Some people complained the excursion was an expensive walk in some damp woods with a guide just out of high school, but our half-day hike was welcome exercise, and the chance to see the Kodiak War Museum on its beautiful lonely promontory was well worth it. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2017
Great when the weather's good. Two good museums. Wish the cruise lines would negotiate a tour of the Coast Guard station.
Great when the weather's good. Two good museums. Wish the cruise lines would negotiate a tour of the Coast Guard station. Read Less
21 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2017
Enjoyed the belalika players. Citrus Russian tea somewhat gross..loved meeting locals and seeing the churches
Enjoyed the belalika players. Citrus Russian tea somewhat gross..loved meeting locals and seeing the churches Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise