Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2019
Fort Ambercrombie Fort hike and tour was fun and VERY informative. The guide's husband works for NFS and she was friendly, knowledgeable and just a fun tour even in the mist. We even got to hike the "moss trail" which ... Read More
Fort Ambercrombie Fort hike and tour was fun and VERY informative. The guide's husband works for NFS and she was friendly, knowledgeable and just a fun tour even in the mist. We even got to hike the "moss trail" which isn't usually included. So glad I didn't have to live in one of the huts located there during WWII Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2019
Nothing wrong with a visit here, but I was so chilly that I went back to the ship early. Be sure to go to the visitors' center - they have really made a special effort to be informative. This is where you can learn about bears. ... Read More
Nothing wrong with a visit here, but I was so chilly that I went back to the ship early. Be sure to go to the visitors' center - they have really made a special effort to be informative. This is where you can learn about bears. Unlike most visitor centers, this one wasn't constantly hawking things for you to buy, Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2019
The only tour we could get was a 1 hour panoramic tour which we did towards the end of teh day. It was however easy to walk into town (a shuttle ws also available) and look at the marina, shops and also the nearby Near Island which had ... Read More
The only tour we could get was a 1 hour panoramic tour which we did towards the end of teh day. It was however easy to walk into town (a shuttle ws also available) and look at the marina, shops and also the nearby Near Island which had nice views and some wildlife. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: September 2018
We booked a Bear Viewing with Sea Hawk Air. It was fabulous. It was not offered by the ship.
We booked a Bear Viewing with Sea Hawk Air. It was fabulous. It was not offered by the ship. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: August 2018
Probably our least favourite port but still enjoyable. We used the local taxi service.
Probably our least favourite port but still enjoyable. We used the local taxi service. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: July 2018
Great weather and Fort Abercrombie was really interested and spotted a pod of killer whales while I was there.
Great weather and Fort Abercrombie was really interested and spotted a pod of killer whales while I was there. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: July 2018
It gets a average rating because it was a blustery day, wind & rain that turned the umbrellas inside out. Took the shuttle into town and stopped at 2 close museums which were very nice.
It gets a average rating because it was a blustery day, wind & rain that turned the umbrellas inside out. Took the shuttle into town and stopped at 2 close museums which were very nice. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2018
We stopped and had coffee at Monk's Coffee House. Probably some of the best coffee I have ever had. They were really busy so we had to go to an upstairs room for a table. Great view of the city, nice way to spend a slow morning. ... Read More
We stopped and had coffee at Monk's Coffee House. Probably some of the best coffee I have ever had. They were really busy so we had to go to an upstairs room for a table. Great view of the city, nice way to spend a slow morning. We did several other things around town and there were interesting things to see but glad we didn't spend the money for a tour. We took the shuttle into town and walked back to the ship. It was a bit of a walk but very enjoyable. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
The offered a 45 minute Flightsee, some of the flights saw a couple of bears from great distance, we did not, planes were small float planes and uncomfortable. they offered a walking tour to town to see the cannery but no wildlife despite ... Read More
The offered a 45 minute Flightsee, some of the flights saw a couple of bears from great distance, we did not, planes were small float planes and uncomfortable. they offered a walking tour to town to see the cannery but no wildlife despite it being booked as a wildlife tour. When I question the expidition leader, I was told he felt it was not safe to walk outside of town Read Less
20 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
Ours was called The Taste of Kodiak, and consisted of a walking tour to 6 different establishments to sample their wares. My only complaint was the 2-mile walk into town to begin the tour - and 2-miles back to the ship!
Ours was called The Taste of Kodiak, and consisted of a walking tour to 6 different establishments to sample their wares. My only complaint was the 2-mile walk into town to begin the tour - and 2-miles back to the ship! Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2018
Kodiak was a friendly town with some lovely shops. Make sure to go see the Russian Orthodox Church. Lookup as well since their are lots of eagles that perch. If you are a quilter there is a lovely shop that caters to quilters.
Kodiak was a friendly town with some lovely shops. Make sure to go see the Russian Orthodox Church. Lookup as well since their are lots of eagles that perch. If you are a quilter there is a lovely shop that caters to quilters. Read Less
Sail Date: February 2018
They were having a Crab Festival the day we stopped so it was very good. The Coast Guard did a demonstration of life saving procedures and rescue demonstration.
They were having a Crab Festival the day we stopped so it was very good. The Coast Guard did a demonstration of life saving procedures and rescue demonstration. Read Less
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2017
Some people complained the excursion was an expensive walk in some damp woods with a guide just out of high school, but our half-day hike was welcome exercise, and the chance to see the Kodiak War Museum on its beautiful lonely promontory ... Read More
Some people complained the excursion was an expensive walk in some damp woods with a guide just out of high school, but our half-day hike was welcome exercise, and the chance to see the Kodiak War Museum on its beautiful lonely promontory was well worth it. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: July 2017
This was a rainy port with very little to do. There was a crafters fair where we purchased a few things and a cute port.
This was a rainy port with very little to do. There was a crafters fair where we purchased a few things and a cute port. Read Less
10 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2017
Very wet, so we did not stay. We did overhear someone who had a friend who lived here. Apparently, they thought the highlight of the town was McDonalds.
Very wet, so we did not stay. We did overhear someone who had a friend who lived here. Apparently, they thought the highlight of the town was McDonalds. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise