Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
Sail Date: July 2019
This port did not live up to the hype. I understand this this port gives folks the opportunity to experience a day at the beach but the day at the beach experience provided could be much better. We arrived at the port on time but it ... Read More
This port did not live up to the hype. I understand this this port gives folks the opportunity to experience a day at the beach but the day at the beach experience provided could be much better. We arrived at the port on time but it took us over an hour and a half to actually get to half moon cay between the wait (ticket number process to board)and the water shuttle trip. By the time we reached the island they were already serving the free lunch BBQ which was simply ok not great. The jerk chicken was dry, the hot-dogs were good and after having Guy's burgers why would i want the regular burger served at the BBQ. The birds around the BBQ were cool until they weren't. They would just swarm out of no where to plates and the like. People suck, so trash was out of control. I went to every bar asking for the drink package and all of them said that they either never heard of it or told me that they don't do that anymore. A few said that since they have been there (6-9) months they have never heard of a drink package for the island and simply told me that the ship drink package was not included. The drinks were in small plastic cups filled with ice. They charged full ship price for them even though they were clearly half the size as they would be on-board the ship; stick to beer to save you. The lobster shack was not a thing at all and I again was told by numerous staff that they have never actually seen it open (6-9 months) So you only food option is the BBQ. Carnival's fun staff was cool, they had activities for us to get into on the beach which kept us entertained for sure. The beach itself was beautiful, soft sands, smooth waves, perfect temp. The deeper you go into the water the colder it got and the more wildlife you would see. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2019
Absolute beautiful island, We bought our own snorkel kit and had a great time. we saw and caught a pucker fish and just enjoyed the beautiful water and beaches.
Absolute beautiful island, We bought our own snorkel kit and had a great time. we saw and caught a pucker fish and just enjoyed the beautiful water and beaches. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
This was the saving grace for our trip. My wife and I are beach people, so if a beach is just good enough we are happy. This place was amazing. The sand is perfectly white and smooth as far out as you want to swim. This is a no-shoes ... Read More
This was the saving grace for our trip. My wife and I are beach people, so if a beach is just good enough we are happy. This place was amazing. The sand is perfectly white and smooth as far out as you want to swim. This is a no-shoes beach, even for the softest toes. The water is crystal clear. So clear that you want sunblock on your legs even if you plan to stay in the water the whole time (he says as he scratches the sunburned leg). The beach is huge, so there is plenty of room for different types of people to spread out. If you are in to entertainment, and getting loud, Carnival has you covered. Right where you get off the boat they have a bar that I heard was nice, and the Cruise Director is there keeping everything hoppin. If you're like my wife and I, and you just want to relax on a quiet beach away from everyone, it's just a walk down the beach away and life is great. And, if you go that route, when it's time to eat there is a little road just on the other side of the trees and they run carts up and down it all day to haul you to the food and back to your hammocks. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
We hadn’t been here before, so we did the free beach day and lunch. I was really impressed with all of it. We really enjoyed the beach and the lunch. 6+ out of 5 stars for this port!
We hadn’t been here before, so we did the free beach day and lunch. I was really impressed with all of it. We really enjoyed the beach and the lunch. 6+ out of 5 stars for this port! Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
We took the tender to get to Half Moon Cay. Started to walk around the island then we found a place to sit. We went into shed that sprayed mist around. Shopped in stores then went back to ship.
We took the tender to get to Half Moon Cay. Started to walk around the island then we found a place to sit. We went into shed that sprayed mist around. Shopped in stores then went back to ship. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
Beach was beautiful. Saw some fish swim right by us. The food was ok but the eating area was small because of so many people reserving the tables or just being jackasses and take up whole table with personal belongings so no one else would ... Read More
Beach was beautiful. Saw some fish swim right by us. The food was ok but the eating area was small because of so many people reserving the tables or just being jackasses and take up whole table with personal belongings so no one else would sit with them. Beach, good, food good, drinks fair, capacity poor, ice dispenser, poor. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
Best thing we have ever done: Bring your own inflatable rafts. I purchased $5 rafts at $5 below and packed them for the cruise. Great for just floating in the beautiful water!
Best thing we have ever done: Bring your own inflatable rafts. I purchased $5 rafts at $5 below and packed them for the cruise. Great for just floating in the beautiful water! Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
Pathetic! Felt as if we were on a concentration camp during lunch. Who the heck travels to the Bahamas to eat hamburgers and hotdogs??
Pathetic! Felt as if we were on a concentration camp during lunch. Who the heck travels to the Bahamas to eat hamburgers and hotdogs?? Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
Our excursion got canceled because of water conditions, though ours was the only one to do so. So we just ended up snagging a couple of beach chairs and letting the kids play in the ocean for a bit. We aren’t huge beach people, so this ... Read More
Our excursion got canceled because of water conditions, though ours was the only one to do so. So we just ended up snagging a couple of beach chairs and letting the kids play in the ocean for a bit. We aren’t huge beach people, so this was pretty average for us. It was crowded. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: May 2019
Worst port I've been too. Everything costed, only 2 shops and one beach and bar. there was nothing you could walk to, there were no transportation busses to take you into town unless you were on an excursion. So disappointing.
Worst port I've been too. Everything costed, only 2 shops and one beach and bar. there was nothing you could walk to, there were no transportation busses to take you into town unless you were on an excursion. So disappointing. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
Beautiful water. Sand is really soft, so hard to walk on, but once you are in the water you forget all about it. The buffet lunch is wonderful.
Beautiful water. Sand is really soft, so hard to walk on, but once you are in the water you forget all about it. The buffet lunch is wonderful. Read Less
Sail Date: April 2019
Beautiful beach. Tenders very efficient. Outdoor lunch just okay. More attention to hygiene required to prevent people from getting sick. After lunch more beach umbrellas and/or shade trees needed on beach.
Beautiful beach. Tenders very efficient. Outdoor lunch just okay. More attention to hygiene required to prevent people from getting sick. After lunch more beach umbrellas and/or shade trees needed on beach. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2019
One the nicest beaches I've seen, just gorgeous. Relaxed on a chair and swam in the crystal clear, aqua water. My only complaint is it was HOT with very little shade. We decided not to book an excursion for that reason, and we just ... Read More
One the nicest beaches I've seen, just gorgeous. Relaxed on a chair and swam in the crystal clear, aqua water. My only complaint is it was HOT with very little shade. We decided not to book an excursion for that reason, and we just went for a few hours and then returned to the ship. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2019
This is a perfect beach: clean, ony one ship so not crowded, limpid and hot water, very small waves and the island bbq was one of the best we had in any of our other cruises
This is a perfect beach: clean, ony one ship so not crowded, limpid and hot water, very small waves and the island bbq was one of the best we had in any of our other cruises Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise

Other Cruise Line Cruise Reviews from Half Moon Cay

Other Cruise Styles from Half Moon Cay Reviews