Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: February 2019
I personally would no bother doing this tour again, not much to see, no real value for money, no different than the lovely singing choir at dock side,
I personally would no bother doing this tour again, not much to see, no real value for money, no different than the lovely singing choir at dock side, Read Less
Sail Date: December 2018
It was a excellent tour and Ben the boss and tour guide was great and gave us extra time and places. He knew his history also which is what I wanted.
It was a excellent tour and Ben the boss and tour guide was great and gave us extra time and places. He knew his history also which is what I wanted. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: March 2018
This was the hottest port I've ever visited. The poverty is evident as soon as we stepped outside the cruise terminal. The roads weren't well kept and potholes were all over the place. We stopped in a hotel and found the beer was ... Read More
This was the hottest port I've ever visited. The poverty is evident as soon as we stepped outside the cruise terminal. The roads weren't well kept and potholes were all over the place. We stopped in a hotel and found the beer was more expensive than on the ship. Won't be coming back to this place. Read Less
12 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2017
Alotau was our least favorite port, but it was still really interesting and a good introduction to PNG. Alotau is the regional centre of Milne Bay province. The villagers in the surrounding area come to Alotau for supplies and so it ... Read More
Alotau was our least favorite port, but it was still really interesting and a good introduction to PNG. Alotau is the regional centre of Milne Bay province. The villagers in the surrounding area come to Alotau for supplies and so it feels busier than a city of its size. Alotau was the only port where we were docked, making disembarking simple. Due to high winds on our way from Australia to PNG, we arrived a couple of hours later than planned. The boat docks about 1.5-2 km from the town centre and you can walk into town on your own alongside the road or take a taxi for $5 AUD. There are many World War II sites that can be visited and P&O offers tours to highlight these sites. We opted to just walk off the ship with the aim of finding a local tour to join. As we walked off the ship there were children and adults in traditional dress dancing, which was a great welcome to the country. There are lots of locals holding up signs for tours as you exit the dock area. It is a bit overwhelming to try to decide which person to go with. They all advertised similar itineraries: World War II memorials, the local market, the craft market, a look out, a local village and school. Most charged $25-30pp AUD or 50-60K for a 2.5 hour tour in 15-seater older vans. I think choosing a tour and guide is a bit like the lottery and we ended up picking a dud. The first place she took us was the airport, which we all didn’t really understand why she took us there. We did get to see villages and homes outside the town on the drive, which was interesting. She then took us to the local market where we were supposed to have 5 minutes, but I could have had much longer. There were lots of local fruits, peanuts, coconuts, fish and of course betal nut for sale. We bought some peanuts, coconuts to drink and tried the rose apple red fruit which we saw throughout PNG. Our next stop was the craft market where there were T-shirts, hats, sarongs, carvings, baskets on offer. I would recommend buying any manufactured souvenirs here, but buying carvings and handmade souvenirs on the islands. Our tour had only been going for 1.5 hours and she indicated that she was taking us all back now. In hind sight we should have spoken up because we had not visited most of the places promised. We asked her to let us out at the market where we could continue to explore on our own. We spent a couple of hours walking around the harbor and the six shops on the main street. I love the opportunity to see local shops and we picked up a few t-shirts for the kids in the stores. While Alotau is not the most exciting port, we still thought it gave us an interesting introduction to PNG. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2017
Very Poor location of PNG. Port was dirty, hot, uneven walkways, and not a very pleasant place to visit. Given a choice, I will stay on the ship if returning to this port.
Very Poor location of PNG. Port was dirty, hot, uneven walkways, and not a very pleasant place to visit. Given a choice, I will stay on the ship if returning to this port. Read Less
20 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: November 2016
Just walked around here and were adopted by 7 yr old Nata. Went to supermarket and market. Also had a bite to eat at International Hotel. People very friendly and helpful. There is at least one bank with an ATM. CHeaper to get Kina here ... Read More
Just walked around here and were adopted by 7 yr old Nata. Went to supermarket and market. Also had a bite to eat at International Hotel. People very friendly and helpful. There is at least one bank with an ATM. CHeaper to get Kina here than on ship. Quite safe to walk from ship to town. Read Less
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2016
This port is very much like Fiji would have been during the 60's. Not a lot to see or buy from the locals. I donated money instead to a Pentecostal church (it was Sunday) that was rocking its socks off with God, and to a stand that ... Read More
This port is very much like Fiji would have been during the 60's. Not a lot to see or buy from the locals. I donated money instead to a Pentecostal church (it was Sunday) that was rocking its socks off with God, and to a stand that was all about the disabled in Alotau. We then paid $15 each to sit and watch native dancers, and bought lunch and drinks there as well. Spent over $100 in their community without buying junky stuff to bring home. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2016
As PNG is a 3rd world country, this port is certainly nothing special. We got off the ship for an hour or so to see the WW2 memorial.
As PNG is a 3rd world country, this port is certainly nothing special. We got off the ship for an hour or so to see the WW2 memorial. Read Less
9 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: February 2016
Crammed into three buses with jump seats in use - entertained for 3 hours while the Coral Discoverer was prepared for new guests.
Crammed into three buses with jump seats in use - entertained for 3 hours while the Coral Discoverer was prepared for new guests. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise

Other Cruise Line Cruise Reviews from Alotau

Other Cruise Styles from Alotau Reviews