Cruise Ratings
See Reviews For
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2019
Docked downtown about a five minute walk from the Visitors Center. Just like in Reykjavik, there was another Icewear gift shop at the dock. If not doing a tour, most tourist shops are close by and it took us about 3 hours to browse most of ... Read More
Docked downtown about a five minute walk from the Visitors Center. Just like in Reykjavik, there was another Icewear gift shop at the dock. If not doing a tour, most tourist shops are close by and it took us about 3 hours to browse most of the stores. We opted not to do the tours here as we had done the Golden Circle and Vik two days prior. (and have been to Yellowstone and Rotorua so this wasn’t our first volcanic area ). We found lots of spare time after doing the main shopping street so just wandered around the rest of the city until time to return. It was rainy, windy, and cold until about 2pm, then cleared up and became sunny. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2019
Our only poor weather day, that kept us from going to Godafoss. Nice town on a beautiful fjord.
Our only poor weather day, that kept us from going to Godafoss. Nice town on a beautiful fjord. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2019
Europcar rental right at the port. Very easy rental and we went to see waterfalls and came back early to go to the public hot tub swimming facility. That place is awesome. Warm water slides and 4 hot tubs for all temperature ranges.
Europcar rental right at the port. Very easy rental and we went to see waterfalls and came back early to go to the public hot tub swimming facility. That place is awesome. Warm water slides and 4 hot tubs for all temperature ranges. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2019
Walked off the ship. Beautiful city. We liked it better than Reykjavik. Very small town, we walked the city in about 30 mins. The people were very friendly
Walked off the ship. Beautiful city. We liked it better than Reykjavik. Very small town, we walked the city in about 30 mins. The people were very friendly Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2019
Lovely town. Everything was close ot the ship. We wandered around and visited a museum.
Lovely town. Everything was close ot the ship. We wandered around and visited a museum. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
It was fun seeing the old Priest's church and primitive homes they lived in with grass covered roofs. Our guide was quite good.
It was fun seeing the old Priest's church and primitive homes they lived in with grass covered roofs. Our guide was quite good. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
Again, we took a private tour with Saga Travel to Lake Myvatn and Godafoss. Fantastic scenery and waterfalls. GoT fans - this is a must see.
Again, we took a private tour with Saga Travel to Lake Myvatn and Godafoss. Fantastic scenery and waterfalls. GoT fans - this is a must see. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
Rented a car - was waiting for us at the port. Basically did the "Jewels of the North" excursion, but on our own.
Rented a car - was waiting for us at the port. Basically did the "Jewels of the North" excursion, but on our own. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
Rented a car again, which gave us the freedom to see some of the amazing countryside. Iceland is ridiculously gorgeous, with amazing waterfalls and canyons appearing seemingly from nowhere. Godafoss is especially beautiful.
Rented a car again, which gave us the freedom to see some of the amazing countryside. Iceland is ridiculously gorgeous, with amazing waterfalls and canyons appearing seemingly from nowhere. Godafoss is especially beautiful. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
Nice stop. Explored the town. There is an older section of the town but somehow I missed my sense of direction. Someone did see and said it was nice but could tell the buildings needed a bit of reno.
Nice stop. Explored the town. There is an older section of the town but somehow I missed my sense of direction. Someone did see and said it was nice but could tell the buildings needed a bit of reno. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2019
Very informative guide. DO NOT BOOK WITH CRUISE SHIP. The independent excursions allowed us to get to points before there was a crowd and made it more interesting.
Very informative guide. DO NOT BOOK WITH CRUISE SHIP. The independent excursions allowed us to get to points before there was a crowd and made it more interesting. Read Less
19 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2018
Don´t take any over priced excursion from MSC, rent a car (booked before) and take a drive ex. Husavik for vale excursion.
Don´t take any over priced excursion from MSC, rent a car (booked before) and take a drive ex. Husavik for vale excursion. Read Less
18 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2018
Interesting port to visit and worth being on deck for the approach as there are often whales in the fjord (if right time of year). Berth walkable to town centre. Interesting cathedral and nice walk past here to botanical gardens. Famous ... Read More
Interesting port to visit and worth being on deck for the approach as there are often whales in the fjord (if right time of year). Berth walkable to town centre. Interesting cathedral and nice walk past here to botanical gardens. Famous ice cream shop about 20 minutes walk out of town but we went to Valdis in the main street - yummy! We had booked in advance a whale watching trip with Elding and it was very good - can recommend. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise

Other Cruise Line Cruise Reviews from Akureyri

Other Cruise Styles from Akureyri Reviews