1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Viking Vilhjalm
I've seen the advertisements on TV for many years. I've been cruising pretty regularly since 2010 and just became more and more intrigued. So I did some research and it confirmed Viking was one of these best companies. Everything was so simple and easy. From booking it to transportation to getting on and off the ship, all easy. The ship was amazing. Definitely much, much smaller than the larger cruise ships I'm used too, but none of the crowds. The staff was superb. Food was great and the excursions were awesome! I mean you pull over to parks to downtown areas, etc...and everything is right there! And you learn SO much from the tour guides!!!! Wow, my wife and I were blown away. We'd do it again in a heartbeat and in fact, we are, because we are looking at doing a another Viking cruise within the next two years, possibly to Italy this time. On this last cruise, we did the Danube and we went to Munich and Passau, Germany, Linz and Melk, scenic cruise thru Wachau Valley, Durnstein, Krems, and Vienna Austria, and Budapest, Hungary. The worst part of the trip? Staying on the airplanes for so long, but seating was comfortable and Lufthansa's food is EXCELLENT! The tour groups are generally small so you can ask personal questions of the guides. Where comfortable shoes because you WILL do a lot of walking. And generally, if it's hot, when you come back, you'll want to change clothes so think about your clothing or getting them laundered on the ship. My wife and I are African American and we were the only ones on the cruise ship. We had zero issues with any staff, other travlers, or at any places we visited. I only share thata because I've had other friends ask me. Everyone is helpful and friendly. Here was our travel schedule: TUE JUN 05, 2018 Depart Denver, CO (DEN) - Economy WED JUN 06, 2018 Arrive Munich, Germany (MUC) WED JUN 06, 2018 Transfer from Munich, Germany (MUC) to VIKING VILHJALM WED JUN 06, 2018 Embark In Passau on Viking Vilhjalm Standard - 118 THU JUN 07, 2018 Passau, Germany FRI JUN 08, 2018 Linz, Austria SAT JUN 09, 2018 Melk, Austria SAT JUN 09, 2018 Scenic Cruising: Wachau Valley SAT JUN 09, 2018 Durnstein, Austria SAT JUN 09, 2018 Krems, Austria SUN JUN 10, 2018 Vienna, Austria MON JUN 11, 2018 Bratislava, Slovak Republic MON JUN 11, 2018 Scenic Cruising: Danube Bend TUE JUN 12, 2018 Budapest, Hungary WED JUN 13, 2018 Disembark In Budapest WED JUN 13, 2018 Transfer from VIKING VILHJALM to Budapest, Hungary (BUD) WED JUN 13, 2018 Depart Budapest, Hungary (BUD) WED JUN 13, 2018 Arrive Denver, CO (DEN) Hope this helps!

Fabulous Viking River Cruise

Viking Vilhjalm Cruise Review by davedkc

Trip Details
  • Sail Date: June 2018
  • Destination: Europe River
  • Cabin Type: Deluxe Stateroom
I've seen the advertisements on TV for many years. I've been cruising pretty regularly since 2010 and just became more and more intrigued. So I did some research and it confirmed Viking was one of these best companies. Everything was so simple and easy. From booking it to transportation to getting on and off the ship, all easy.

The ship was amazing. Definitely much, much smaller than the larger cruise ships I'm used too, but none of the crowds. The staff was superb. Food was great and the excursions were awesome! I mean you pull over to parks to downtown areas, etc...and everything is right there! And you learn SO much from the tour guides!!!! Wow, my wife and I were blown away. We'd do it again in a heartbeat and in fact, we are, because we are looking at doing a another Viking cruise within the next two years, possibly to Italy this time. On this last cruise, we did the Danube and we went to Munich and Passau, Germany, Linz and Melk, scenic cruise thru Wachau Valley, Durnstein, Krems, and Vienna Austria, and Budapest, Hungary.

The worst part of the trip? Staying on the airplanes for so long, but seating was comfortable and Lufthansa's food is EXCELLENT!

The tour groups are generally small so you can ask personal questions of the guides.

Where comfortable shoes because you WILL do a lot of walking. And generally, if it's hot, when you come back, you'll want to change clothes so think about your clothing or getting them laundered on the ship.

My wife and I are African American and we were the only ones on the cruise ship. We had zero issues with any staff, other travlers, or at any places we visited. I only share thata because I've had other friends ask me. Everyone is helpful and friendly.

Here was our travel schedule:

TUE JUN 05, 2018 Depart Denver, CO (DEN) - Economy

WED JUN 06, 2018 Arrive Munich, Germany (MUC)

WED JUN 06, 2018 Transfer from Munich, Germany (MUC) to VIKING VILHJALM

WED JUN 06, 2018 Embark In Passau on Viking Vilhjalm

Standard - 118

THU JUN 07, 2018 Passau, Germany

FRI JUN 08, 2018 Linz, Austria

SAT JUN 09, 2018 Melk, Austria

SAT JUN 09, 2018 Scenic Cruising: Wachau Valley

SAT JUN 09, 2018 Durnstein, Austria

SAT JUN 09, 2018 Krems, Austria

SUN JUN 10, 2018 Vienna, Austria

MON JUN 11, 2018 Bratislava, Slovak Republic

MON JUN 11, 2018 Scenic Cruising: Danube Bend

TUE JUN 12, 2018 Budapest, Hungary

WED JUN 13, 2018 Disembark In Budapest

WED JUN 13, 2018 Transfer from VIKING VILHJALM to Budapest, Hungary (BUD)

WED JUN 13, 2018 Depart Budapest, Hungary (BUD)

WED JUN 13, 2018 Arrive Denver, CO (DEN)

Hope this helps!
davedkc’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Viking Vilhjalm price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Cabin Review

Deluxe Stateroom
Cabin F 118
So, I'm used to cruising on big ships so this cabin is very small in comparison. But the honest truth is, is didn't matter. You are hardly EVER in the cabin. It's truly for sleeping, changing clothes, and showering. There are plenty of places on the ship to read or work if you want to find them. The cabin was very clean and well insolated.
Main Deck Outside Cabins