1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Scenic Amber
Our Cruise started off wonderfully on Scenic Amber. We left Budapest September 3 and started sailing. However by September 10 we had to disembark, as a result of lower water we had to pack the night before so we could change to Scenic Jade. On September 9 we were not able to do our desired choice excursions due to time it would take to get there by bus. Instead we were offered a last minute tour of Linz, which was not what I had wanted to see. This trip was our one big expensive journey with many expectations. So when we got on Scenic Jade the staff were not as attentive as they had been on the Scenic Amber. The Service on the Jade was not up to the standards of the Amber ship. Restaurant staff and bar staff were extremely slow in their service, you could tell that they weren’t happy with there job and this came across to everyone. We had to endure this ship change but the staff on the Jade were taking their frustrations out on passengers. So we continued on sailing till we were supposed to be going to Cologne but were not able to sail any further and we had to disembark once again. That next day we would take a four hour bus ride to Cologne where we were going to have a shorter tour of city and then free time. We had not been told the night before that our buses we got on in the morning were not going to take us to the ship. We found this out just as we were getting on the bus. Our bus left late for some reason and also decided to take a longer route to Cologne so we only had a short tour of this beautiful city, 1 hour in total. This was originally to bean all day tour. There was one good thing we got another Crew on the Scenic Ruby, they were very friendly staff, more like the Scenic Amber although our staterooms shrunk with every ship more and more. Our luggage also got lost so we didn’t leave Cologne till after 5:30 so this meant that we wouldn’t be able to sail to Amsterdam and get there on time. So in the morning we once again had to go by bus to reach our tour trip on canals on time. The ship arrived later in day. So overall this was far from the trip of a life time, if I had wanted to take a bus so much I would have booked a bus trip. Scenic knew about water levels before and should have offered us a seven day trip with a refund for the rest. Or offered a full refund to sail when water levels were higher. We met wonderful friends on this trip and that is one thing they did give us. But I don’t feel we got compensated for the two full days of sight seeing we missed. Or the unfriendly and sub par staff of Scenic Jade. I think they should be reprimanded for the way they treated Scenic Passengers. I wouldn’t travel with Scenic again unless they compensate passengers better.

One cruise with three different ships!

Scenic Amber Cruise Review by Dlking

3 people found this helpful
Trip Details
Our Cruise started off wonderfully on Scenic Amber. We left Budapest September 3 and started sailing. However by September 10 we had to disembark, as a result of lower water we had to pack the night before so we could change to Scenic Jade. On September 9 we were not able to do our desired choice excursions due to time it would take to get there by bus. Instead we were offered a last minute tour of Linz, which was not what I had wanted to see. This trip was our one big expensive journey with many expectations. So when we got on Scenic Jade the staff were not as attentive as they had been on the Scenic Amber. The Service on the Jade was not up to the standards of the Amber ship. Restaurant staff and bar staff were extremely slow in their service, you could tell that they weren’t happy with there job and this came across to everyone. We had to endure this ship change but the staff on the Jade were taking their frustrations out on passengers. So we continued on sailing till we were supposed to be going to Cologne but were not able to sail any further and we had to disembark once again. That next day we would take a four hour bus ride to Cologne where we were going to have a shorter tour of city and then free time. We had not been told the night before that our buses we got on in the morning were not going to take us to the ship. We found this out just as we were getting on the bus. Our bus left late for some reason and also decided to take a longer route to Cologne so we only had a short tour of this beautiful city, 1 hour in total. This was originally to bean all day tour. There was one good thing we got another Crew on the Scenic Ruby, they were very friendly staff, more like the Scenic Amber although our staterooms shrunk with every ship more and more. Our luggage also got lost so we didn’t leave Cologne till after 5:30 so this meant that we wouldn’t be able to sail to Amsterdam and get there on time. So in the morning we once again had to go by bus to reach our tour trip on canals on time. The ship arrived later in day. So overall this was far from the trip of a life time, if I had wanted to take a bus so much I would have booked a bus trip. Scenic knew about water levels before and should have offered us a seven day trip with a refund for the rest. Or offered a full refund to sail when water levels were higher. We met wonderful friends on this trip and that is one thing they did give us. But I don’t feel we got compensated for the two full days of sight seeing we missed. Or the unfriendly and sub par staff of Scenic Jade. I think they should be reprimanded for the way they treated Scenic Passengers. I wouldn’t travel with Scenic again unless they compensate passengers better.
, The Scenic Team has responded
Dear Dlking, We are very sorry to hear this was not the once in a lifetime experience you were hoping for and you had to change ships twice. Unfortunately due to the hot and dry weather patterns in Europe, this has affected water levels in sections of the Rhine, Main and Danube Rivers, which is impacting the safe navigation of cruise vessels on the rivers. This may require Scenic to modify ship deployments, to enact ship swaps or to amend or cancel itineraries on short notice. We apologise for the differing quality of service from our staff and the changes to some of your onshore activities and time in certain places. I have passed your feedback to our customer care team to review. We are pleased to hear that you made some wonderful friends during your trip. Best regards, The Scenic Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of The Independent Traveler, Inc.
Dlking’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Scenic Amber price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Cabin Review

Cabin 219
Cabins shrunk every time you changed ships