1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Scenic Ruby
We booked a river cruise but it felt like a bus tour with occasional stops on the river. We were on 3 different boats during a 15 day cruise. Not 5 Star Service on any of the three. We started on the Ruby, were then transferred to the Jade and then finished on the Pearl. Spent way too much time packing/unpacking and a ridiculous amount of time on buses vs the river. Definitely would not cruise with Scenic again. Dining was not what I would call 5 Star and the entertainment on board was meant to have you fall asleep. We got behind schedule from the beginning and it took us a week to get caught up, but in the meantime because we were behind schedule we spent a lot to time on buses getting us to our excursion locations. I felt sorry for the older cruisers as they were pretty well confined to the ship due to the fact that we never stopped where we were suppose to and as a result they had no way of getting off the ship, we weren't docked where they had accessibility to shore.

Scenic Amsterdam to Budapest - Worst Cruise EVER

Scenic Ruby Cruise Review by wallaced

4 people found this helpful
Trip Details
We booked a river cruise but it felt like a bus tour with occasional stops on the river. We were on 3 different boats during a 15 day cruise. Not 5 Star Service on any of the three. We started on the Ruby, were then transferred to the Jade and then finished on the Pearl. Spent way too much time packing/unpacking and a ridiculous amount of time on buses vs the river. Definitely would not cruise with Scenic again. Dining was not what I would call 5 Star and the entertainment on board was meant to have you fall asleep. We got behind schedule from the beginning and it took us a week to get caught up, but in the meantime because we were behind schedule we spent a lot to time on buses getting us to our excursion locations. I felt sorry for the older cruisers as they were pretty well confined to the ship due to the fact that we never stopped where we were suppose to and as a result they had no way of getting off the ship, we weren't docked where they had accessibility to shore.
, The Scenic Team has responded
Good morning, We are sorry to hear that the current low water levels in Europe meant that you had to change ship three times, and you didn't find this cruise as luxurious as you had hoped. Currently in Europe, the incidence of low water and the ability for continued cruising is varying on a daily basis due to water levels. This is a situation we are monitoring continuously such that we can implement alternative options where possible, to ensure the continuation of guest’s travel plans. If you would like to share any further feedback, our Customer Care team can be reached on CustomerCare@scenic.com.au. Kind regards, The Scenic Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of The Independent Traveler, Inc.
wallaced’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Scenic Ruby price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email