1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Scenic Jewel
We choose Scenic for the all-inclusive option, where tips and alcoholic beverages outside of meals are included in the price. We also chose them because of their 5-star rating, as most in the group were seasoned travellers with discriminating tastes. Scenic met our expectations in all respects, with only a few exceptions. The design of the Jewel (not sure about their other ships) is flawed in the sense that the two most expensive suites, the Royal Panoramic Suites at the stern, are located above the engines. A member of our group staying here. The vibration and noise is quite disturbing for guests sleeping in these quarters when the ship is cruising at night which is fairly frequent. The suites are beautiful, with full length windows on two sides. This turns the suite into a sauna on a sunny day and unfortunately the air-conditioning only functioned in the entry way of the suite, not the whole suite. The windows can be opened but while in port, the suite filled up quickly with flies. Scenic should indicate on their ship maps where the engines are located so guests can be warned in advance of where the noise will most likely occur. Our cabin was midship and so quiet you didn't even know the ship was moving. There is no motion at all on river cruise ships, making it an extremely comfortable cruise. Wait staff and butlers go above and beyond, as do the cleaning staff, kitchen and our cruise director, Tadei. They can't do enough for you. In spite of the design shortcomings in the Royal Panoramic Suite, we still gave it full marks, as it would be impossible to surpass every other aspect of this trip.

Unrivalled

Scenic Jewel Cruise Review by deeappleby

1 person found this helpful
Trip Details
We choose Scenic for the all-inclusive option, where tips and alcoholic beverages outside of meals are included in the price. We also chose them because of their 5-star rating, as most in the group were seasoned travellers with discriminating tastes. Scenic met our expectations in all respects, with only a few exceptions. The design of the Jewel (not sure about their other ships) is flawed in the sense that the two most expensive suites, the Royal Panoramic Suites at the stern, are located above the engines. A member of our group staying here. The vibration and noise is quite disturbing for guests sleeping in these quarters when the ship is cruising at night which is fairly frequent. The suites are beautiful, with full length windows on two sides. This turns the suite into a sauna on a sunny day and unfortunately the air-conditioning only functioned in the entry way of the suite, not the whole suite. The windows can be opened but while in port, the suite filled up quickly with flies. Scenic should indicate on their ship maps where the engines are located so guests can be warned in advance of where the noise will most likely occur. Our cabin was midship and so quiet you didn't even know the ship was moving. There is no motion at all on river cruise ships, making it an extremely comfortable cruise. Wait staff and butlers go above and beyond, as do the cleaning staff, kitchen and our cruise director, Tadei. They can't do enough for you. In spite of the design shortcomings in the Royal Panoramic Suite, we still gave it full marks, as it would be impossible to surpass every other aspect of this trip.
, The Scenic Team has responded
Dear deeappleby, Thank you for your lovely review and it's great to hear that you had a wonderful experience on board and you had an extremely comfortable cruise. We're pleased to read that you found all the staff went above and beyond to make your cruise a memorable one. Thank you for providing feedback on our Royal Panoramic Suite. We will pass this onto our team to review. Best regards, The Scenic Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of The Independent Traveler, Inc.
deeappleby’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Scenic Jewel price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Cabin Review

Cabin 314
Best suite on the ship. Located midship on the Diamond (top) deck so virtually no engine noise. Very spacious with full bath/shower, living room and king size bed. Walk-out balcony with two chairs and table.

Port & Shore Excursion Reviews

  • Bike Tour
    Bike paths make it easy to navigate. Tailor-made devices cannot be used while cycling, but guide stopped at various checkpoints to narrate. Enjoyed it.
    View All 8 Bike Tour Reviews