1. Home
  2. Cruise Lines
  3. Celebrity Cruises
  4. Celebrity Eclipse Review
  5. Celebrity Eclipse Cruise Reviews
Sail Date: March 2019
Celebrity Eclipse Trip San Antonio Chile to San Diego California March 24 2019 Embarkation poor. Had people lined up for hours waiting to be processed. There was no place for anyone to sit. Other cruise lines issue a number and have ... Read More
Celebrity Eclipse Trip San Antonio Chile to San Diego California March 24 2019 Embarkation poor. Had people lined up for hours waiting to be processed. There was no place for anyone to sit. Other cruise lines issue a number and have passengers sit to wait for their number to be called. The gangplank to the ship was very steep so the staff had to strain to push wheelchair passengers on the ship. Room 9402 very nice and good location, efficient room design with the exception of no electric plug next to or near bed. I called Crucon prior to sailing and requested distilled water for a piece of medical equipment. It was not there. I am sure that there are many people who use a CPAP machine at this present time. Our room attendant Kam, came and introduced himself. He was pleasant and carried out requests. There were no extra special touches in the room, ie cotton buds, shower caps, razors or emery boards in fact you could not even purchase an emery board aboard the ship. There was only soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. We were not served a complimentary bottle of champagne as we were served on prior cruises,We had to ask for ice to be present in our room in the evening. There is no folder in the room to describe anything about the ship or contain a list of room service foods. I still don't know if room service is available for meals other than breakfast. There was a sheet for us to fill out every evening for breakfast. We had coffee in our room every day and twice they delivered without cups and milk. The towels and sheets had a funky unpleasant odor, perhaps it was their detergent or not enough detergent. The air conditioner/heat control was not predictable, one time it would be very cold on a setting and the next time it would be uncomfortable at that same setting. The room would become warm while we were in port. The bed was not wonderful, there was no pillow top softness but I am like the princess and the pea. The pillows were OK. Trip route- It was a relocation cruise and the stops were not earth shaking. The prices for ship trips to essentially nothing locations were very expensive. We only did two trips, one to Lima and the other in Punta Arenas Costa Rica. Both were interesting. The other ports did not have anything that looked like we needed to explore further or sounded uninteresting. Entertainment- Stale and according to passengers who previously sailed on the ship it was a repeat of the same performances. The songs were dull and uninspiring. The entertainment was aimed at old people and I am older than god. They need to update their performances. The Eclipse Orchestra was the highlight of the performances. They need to continue with “Live Orchestras” not a digital replacement that is being contemplate by the company. All of our table mates refused to attend the performances because of them being so boring and repetitive. Service-The staff were very positive, smiling and caring throughout the ship. The Captain was a pseudo comedian. Alejandro the master of ceremony was great. Jose P and Edwin our staff in the dining room were caring and attentive they get a 10 out of 10! Food- Terrible!! On previous trips the many tasty main courses offered were wonderful, one had to make a decision of choosing from all the very appealing meals offered most every evening. On this cruise trying to find even one was a difficult task, in fact there were many nights we only had appetizers for our meal because the selection was so poor. On the dress up nights there was nothing special offered except on the last dress up night and another regular evening soft shell lobster not New England lobster. The breakfast and lunch buffets were OK. The salad dressing were horrible. There were people stationed at the entry of cafeteria dispensing hand sanitizing solution but there are no hand washing places there. Hand washing is the only way to truly prevent novovirus. Passengers complained that there was a respiratory illness spreading aboard the ship toward the end of the cruise. Disembarkation-A nightmare! Directions printed for passengers to follow were not written by an English speaking person and were very confusing. Other passengers stated the same regarding the poorly written directions. No one knew where they were to go or wait. There were lines all over the ship. Exiting from the ship was down a very steep gangplank. If I had my luggage I would have been propelled down the gangplank. Being in a wheelchair would have been very scary. Summary We are not gung-ho cruisers but have enjoyed our previous 7 cruises because the food was outstanding, the entertainment fun, but this trip left a bad taste in our mouth. I am not sure we will cruise again anytime soon. Is Celebrity trying to drive people do the specialty dining?? I refuse to pay additional money that probably amount to $100+ for each night to get a decent meal. If this is their object the staff will be shortchanged and service will suffer. The staff in the dining room depend on their tips to supplement their income. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
We chose this cruise, our 11th with Celebrity, because we had never visited South America and it seemed a good opportunity to visit three countries. We had previously booked the Rio Carnival cruise for the previous year, but postponed it ... Read More
We chose this cruise, our 11th with Celebrity, because we had never visited South America and it seemed a good opportunity to visit three countries. We had previously booked the Rio Carnival cruise for the previous year, but postponed it for personal reasons. We changed to this cruise because it was slightly longer being 14 days rather than 10, it was a terribly long way to fly and so we wanted as long there as possible. We also chose this cruise because it was on the Solstice class Eclipse rather than the Millenium class Infinity. We had previously been on a cruise on Celebrity Millenium and prefer the Solstice class ships. The Celebrity Eclipse is lovely, its the second time we have sailed on her and the staff were all excellent. However, every time we travel with Celebrity we notice cost cutting, there is always something missing or costing extra since the previous cruise we did although the prices of their cruises are rising rapidly. The food in the main dining room is not as good as it used to be, the variety is more limited and food is often not very hot. The sommelier's have more tables to look after too. The problem with this cruise was the ports visited. Embarkation day was chaotic, it was done through a convention centre rather than the cruise terminal. The actual check-in was perfectly ok, but then we had to wait for around an hour to be taken to the ship by bus - there was way too much hanging around. Having left home at 2.30pm on the Friday afternoon for Heathrow and flown at 10pm that evening, we landed at 9am Saturday morning and we were not onboard the ship until around 2pm on the Sunday (we had been put up in a hotel in Buenos Aries on the Saturday night). We went on an excellent trip to Mimosa Estancia near Buenos Aries on Monday and had a great time. After that it was all downhill, some of this was because the weather was bad for the entire cruise, which was nobody's fault of course. Our next stop was Monevideo where we did a highlights tour, basically there were no highlights, we had never visited such a dump of a place before. We could not visit the next port, Punto del Este as the captain announced at 7am that morning that the sea was too rough for the tendering operation so we would not be stopping there. At the next port, Puerto Madryn, it was announced the night before that all the shore excursions would be cancelled as recent rain had left the roads in such a poor condition. We were desperate to get off the ship having spent two cold, wet days at sea so we walked around the port town, but there was nothing to see! The other ports were ok, Ushuaia, Punta Arenas and Puerto Montt. We just about glimpsed Cape Horn through the fog but at least the sea was calm. All in all there were way too many sea days on this cruise, in fact half the 14 day cruise was spent at sea, it was an awfully long way to go to just see the sea. It has put us off long haul cruising, we had previously done Asian and Central American cruises. There is too much hanging around, too many sea days with not much to do on the ship when its not warm enough to sit on the deck. Celebrity cruises are not the best for entertainment. Some of the shows were good, we saw a funny comedian and a fantastic acrobatic show (Euphoria) but some awful guest entertainers including an overly flamboyant pianist and an awful singer who had a very high opinion of himself and very little talent. Also their show 'Topper' has been running for years and gets tedius when you have seen it several times! We enjoyed the ship experience as always but would not recommend this cruise. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: February 2019
Very disappointing treatment of someone sustaining a serious injury on the ship due to their negligence. Poor medical treatment. Poor follow up from Guest relations until I conveyed my concerns to them that I felt dismissed. My holiday was ... Read More
Very disappointing treatment of someone sustaining a serious injury on the ship due to their negligence. Poor medical treatment. Poor follow up from Guest relations until I conveyed my concerns to them that I felt dismissed. My holiday was ruined for myself and my partner and ship's response was more 'out of sight, out of mind'. The ship is beautiful, restaurants are good. The ship certainly has style decoratively and never feels overwhelmingly large or oppressive. Delightful cosy corners and cafes can be discovered everywhere around the ship which is generally well appointed for most things you need. Cellar bar terribly under utlised and such a shame as it's a delightful space. Packages are worthwhile. However we had a luxury drinks package and there was no Evian water available as this wasn't stocked in error at the port therefore we were only supplied with the usual bottled water. In addition every time I asked for grapefruit juice I was given orange on our cabin breakfast order. I was advised there was none? This was untrue, I discovered different food / beverage outlets don't share, possibly due to their accounting and stock management, none the less it is frustrating. General treatment of anyone injured in my experience disgusting, of course this has negatively influenced my entire experience which for me was very sad. I now look forward to surgery to repair my hand having returned home. Shame on Celebrity also for not advising passengers when they have a concierge class cabin in the corridor under the cafe that there is noise and obstructed views from the balcony, including poor maintenance and peeling paint onto it. Of course my cruise was tainted due to the fractures I sustained and a badly bruised bottom, both of which effected and still effect all my activities of daily living. However, I also believe it exposed some huge deficits in their service delivery, professionalism and ability to know how to effectively deal with challenging circumstances. In the words of a guest relations team member "most of the crew are young and inexperienced, they just don't know how to behave" and in the words of the concierge representative "there is a hierarchy on board the ship and you can't just talk to anybody" . Our dining experiences were good, all food and beverage outlets provided great service and friendly, attentive staff. Cabin once we relocated was a good size and well provisioned, cabin steward was excellent, Imade thankyou. I used the gym once prior to my injury and it is well equipped. Theatre shows were average by comparison to other cruise ships we have been on. Around the ship there was as usual plenty of activities available and something for everyone throughout the day, although almost non existent on port days, which if you remained on the ship could be a bit boring, although there is always the spa. I had a couple of treatments in the spa and visited the salon for a barber shave and haircut as due to my injury I couldn't shave and needed all my hair cut off. Both experiences were very good. Rio shore excursions were excellent, the remainder advertised appeared less so. We visited Buzios and Santos also. Shore excursions were well organised however. Cabin breakfast was generally served incorrectly and / or tepid, also around 20 minutes earlier on average than the time booked (because it suited them to do so I suspect based on the volume of orders, not satisfactory though). Laundry service was poor, always came back later than should have and we had to chase this up with cabin steward, also items should have been ironed and were apparently but quality was abismal. In fact we had them all done again at the hotel we booked into post cruise. I wouldn't recommend laundry use. This ship is more crew centric than customer centric, be warned, I wish I had been. Read Less
9 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2019
We picked this cruise in 2017, and booked on last cruise as we had been to Antarctica and thought the Chilean fjords and around the Horn sounded great. Picked our tours on line, had our special C1 stateroom, over wake, and looking ... Read More
We picked this cruise in 2017, and booked on last cruise as we had been to Antarctica and thought the Chilean fjords and around the Horn sounded great. Picked our tours on line, had our special C1 stateroom, over wake, and looking forward to cruise. Found out after final payment--our stateroom cost dropped almost to 1/2 our price--Celebrity was not easy to deal with-got a couple perks??? Then the "looking forward to" tours were cancelled for one reason or another?? The fjords were a waste --what we could see--the time of day--the weather--the Captains choices--same for going around the Horn (did not have to be early early morn)--soooo many things spoiled this expensive cruise. Food poising from the Murano restaurant, with nothing from hotel manager after being informed!! The entertainment was so poor---captive in the theater!!! The very last gift from Celebrity--the terrible cough many of us brought home with us--and still have. Think the new CEO is a bean pusher as the cost of everything has gone up-the quality is down--want the Celebrity Line from past 20 years??? GONE! The staff who is there to be of service to the clients are, as always, the top of the cruise lines---but hate to hear them beg for 10s on survey!! We will have to really think about returning to Celebrity---there are other lines to try--Elite Plus does not mean quite what it did. Unhappy with this cruise--can you tell?! Read Less
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2018
We recently completed our first cruise on Celebrity Eclipse in a Royal Suite on the South America Holiday cruise. This will be a long and detailed review for those who might be curious about how RCCL suite experience compare to Celebrity. ... Read More
We recently completed our first cruise on Celebrity Eclipse in a Royal Suite on the South America Holiday cruise. This will be a long and detailed review for those who might be curious about how RCCL suite experience compare to Celebrity. We are a couple with an elementary school aged child and have cruised on Disney, Princess and Royal Caribbean suites in the past. We had high expectations from the Celebrity suite experience based on online reviews. Our most recent cruise prior to Eclipse was in a Star class suite on RCCL Ovation of the Seas where we had fabulous service and loved our Genie. Our cruise journey started on the wrong foot with a very poor embarkation experience. We arrived at the Buenos Aires port around 4 pm and was greeted by port employee who checked in our luggage. Then she told us to go upstairs in the port building to the priority check in line for suite guests. However, when we went upstairs, we couldn’t see any line marked as the priority line and the employee in charge there told us we needed to go through the main line which was very long. Finally after waiting in the main line for what seemed like forever with, we bit the bullet and made an expensive international call to the Celebrity Shoreside concierge in Miami and was able to expedite our embarkation. After all this embarkation hassle, we were relieved to be finally on board but our relief was short lived. When we got to our room, we found that one of our hard shell suitcases was badly cracked during delivery. Our butler and the onboard concierge said the suitcase could be fixed on board but our suitcase came back with what appeared to be a superficial hot glue application which didn’t look sturdy. When we expressed concern that the suitcase fix was unlikely to hold together on the way back, our concierge offered to either give us $50 credit or send a new suitcase. We didn’t want to waste our port days shopping for a new suitcase so we asked for their replacement which turned out to be a fairly cheap, soft sided suitcase. On RCCL, we did not experience any of these embarkation issues. On the service front, the Luminae and other restaurant employees were wonderful but we were deeply disappointed with our butler. Though he did a decent job keeping the cabin tidy and clean, he was very poor at other aspects of his job. He didn’t bring us evening appetizers unless we asked for them and one time when we asked for tea sandwiches to be delivered he told us “ you can also get them at Michael’s yourself”. Another time when he was late delivering our room service breakfast on a port day where we had an early tour, he said he had too many room service orders and didn’t seem apologetic. In addition, we have requested a cake to be delivered to our room via shoreside concierge on New Year’s Eve which never showed up. Overall the butler service fell very short of the Genie service we received on Royal Caribbean. Another very disappointing aspect of our cruise was the poor communication from the captain about the Cape Horn itinerary. The main reason why we were on this cruise was to sail Straits of Magellan and Cape Horn. Though the Cape Horn navigation was nicely narrated, the Straits of Magellan cruising took place on January 1st, a day earlier than announced in the Celebrity dailies and cruise itinerary. We understand that itinerary changes can occur during a cruise but in this case there was no announcement by captain or his officers so we passed the Strait of Magellan without knowing where we were and without any narration of the historic sites we were sailing by. The navigation channel on the TV was also no help and didn’t have any updates. To add insult to injury, a similar itinerary changed happened without any communication for the Chilean Fjords portion of the cruise and we didn’t see the glaciers or the fjords as they were described in the Celebrity Dailies. On RCCL, there were digital screens everywhere that provided updates from the captain and showed the ship’s position in great detail so we always knew where we were. Celebrity Eclipse did live up to our expectations in a few areas. We really enjoyed the quality of food across all outlets and especially the quality of baked goods were exceptional. This is one area Celebrity definitely surpassed RCCL. Our kudos to to all the chefs on board! Theatre entertainment was great and appropriate for all ages. We also thought the photographers on board did an outstanding job. Will we sail Celebrity again ? Possibly, but it certainly won’t be at the top of our list. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
So much of this cruise was a disappointment. First dining room service and room steward were excellent, food delicious. The rest of the experience was below average. 4 sea days with few planned activities. Paper airplane contests for ... Read More
So much of this cruise was a disappointment. First dining room service and room steward were excellent, food delicious. The rest of the experience was below average. 4 sea days with few planned activities. Paper airplane contests for adults, no quite area for drinks in the evening, entertainment in odd places where you could not see if you were short, disembarkation in one port had a 650 people waiting to get off in the center, rude staff, middle drink package was so limiting because they were trying to sell the more expensive package, EVERYTIME you entered the café you were confronted with people selling the specialty restaurants, port talks were at 8 PM;one good performer, the rest average; boarding a fiasco with a 60-90 minute wait for many people; crew not very friendly. Then we left an ipad on board in our stateroom, went through 90 minutes of trying to contact Celebrity and the ship. Had to send an email to celebrity, call when we returned, then had to wait for the cruise to return from next cruise. No way this ipad was not found but apparently they bag the item and store it, labeling it with stateroom and date. Still have not found it. This was our 24 cruise, second with Celebrity, would not do again. Read Less
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
The good, the bad and the ugly. The good Service in the dining room and the food were excellent. The bad We complained about the torn linen and holes in the curtains - attached please see the generic response from the hotel ... Read More
The good, the bad and the ugly. The good Service in the dining room and the food were excellent. The bad We complained about the torn linen and holes in the curtains - attached please see the generic response from the hotel manager - the linen and curtains were immediately replaced BUT the new curtains had even more holes and the linen was once again torn. The ugly When I approached the hotel manager Mr Mario Tavares regarding the replacements that were n worse condition than the original linen his exact words were: Oh well, we can't turn back time. No apolgy. He didnt even ask what cabin number. He simply didnt give a damn. To add to the above the entertainment on the ship was pathetic and almost anything worth doing came at an additional charge. If you were bored and wanted to go to a movie the same cartoon was shown repeatedly and on the only day the movie wasnt a cartoon, the movie was about a storm at sea and a ship being split in two. General sentiment on the cruise from passengers who always support Celebrity was that they would be looking elsewhere in future. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2018
Chosen for the destination ports. The ports (Ireland, Iceland, Shetlands) did not disappoint, but some aspects of ship life were inadequate, particularly the main dining experience. Having travelled on several cruise lines, we found the ... Read More
Chosen for the destination ports. The ports (Ireland, Iceland, Shetlands) did not disappoint, but some aspects of ship life were inadequate, particularly the main dining experience. Having travelled on several cruise lines, we found the quality of food well below expectations. Menu choices were repetitive and limited, portions were minute and far from gourmet. At best, you could say it compared with an average home-cooked meal. Desserts were, on the whole, flavourless and unappealing. In contrast, the food in the Oceanview Cafe was of consistent quality and offered a good selecton. On reflection, it was better value than the so-called fine dining. Specialty restaurants were very expensive. Charges were added to so many items on board that it felt like a money-grabbing exercise, even $3.50 US for orange juice at breakfast, $14.50 to watch a movie in your cabin. Wines overpriced and limited in selection. Disembarkation was chaotic, poorly managed, over-crowded. We found our cabin to be particularly good, well laid out, clean, well serviced. Our overall experience, however, has deterred us from travelling with Celebrity line again. Read Less
Sail Date: April 2018
We chose this cruise as we wanted an eastern Caribbean and southern to islands we have yet to explore and found this 14 day cruise. Little did we know that there is nothing for entertainment on this ship for anyone under the age of ... Read More
We chose this cruise as we wanted an eastern Caribbean and southern to islands we have yet to explore and found this 14 day cruise. Little did we know that there is nothing for entertainment on this ship for anyone under the age of 60!!! The music is ideal for big bands, waltz and such which were popular in the 40's and 50's! Then we upgraded to get the water package as my wife needs water for medical reasons. But we were only able to get 1 bottle at a time and it was nearly an act of God to get more than that at a time! Like water is more precious than gold!!! And on a cruise that costs this much to get a case of flipping $10 water? Then have to wait until bedtime every 2-3 days to get it at that! The excursions are decent though over priced. You can do better and save money on your own shore side. Then the food. It was good, not exceptional, but they are on a schedule and take the food down by 10 pm every night no matter what! Then by 1030, the flipping ship is a near ghost town!!! Our ship was loaded with walkers and scooters and everyone over 60 thought this was wonderful as it isn't a party ship like the others and they can relax, take their naps daily and play Scrabble and cards daily and be in bed by 9 to 10pm and not have any partiers keeping them awake! Horrible cruise that I thought would never end! I will never cruise on Celebrity ever again! This is a cruiseline for old people that want quiet and no kids!!! Their whole idea of fun on sea days was name that tune! From the 40's, 50's and 60's!!! (ARE YOU FLIPPING SERIOUS???) Read Less
Sail Date: March 2018
I had a 14 night cruise as a 25 year marriage gift from my wife. We ad been looking forward to 2 weeks of relaxation on Celebrity Eclipse around the Caribean islands. We had stateroom 1158 on 10th deck. It was a consierge stateroom and ... Read More
I had a 14 night cruise as a 25 year marriage gift from my wife. We ad been looking forward to 2 weeks of relaxation on Celebrity Eclipse around the Caribean islands. We had stateroom 1158 on 10th deck. It was a consierge stateroom and should be one of the better ones as should the ship. We were impressed about the ship - the stateroom and the view over the see. We had a great welcome lunch in the main restaurant. Everything was promising for the next 2 weeks. However when getting to bed the nightmare started. The cabin had some huge vibrations which made it impossible to get a good nights sleep. When complaining to guest relations we were told that the ship was fully booked and could not offer us another room. After a week we had a new room without vibrations and could finally sleep but by now the lack of sleep for a week and the fact that we could not relax in the cabin made our fantastic cruise a nightmare. We were told thcat this was quite normal but that the heavy vibaitions would migrate to other rooms on the next cruise and they could never predict where it would hit. I do not believe this explanation - why didnt it move the whole cruise? After some heavy negotions we were compensated with an amount we could live with. The compansation was as a discount on a cruise with Celebrity Cruiseline. So if we want to use the compensation we have to make another cruise with them. I we dit not have the discount I would say: NEVER CELEBRITY AGAIN. The staff - the food was wonderful and saved our holiday outside our room Read Less
Celebrity Eclipse Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 5.0 0.0
Dining 4.0 0.0
Entertainment 5.0 0.0
Public Rooms 5.0 0.0
Fitness Recreation 4.0 0.0
Family 4.0 0.0
Shore Excursion 4.0 0.0
Enrichment 5.0 0.0
Service 4.0 0.0
Value For Money 4.0 0.0
Rates N/A 0.0

Find a Celebrity Eclipse Cruise

Email me when prices drop