8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2017
Flew off on the dream liner end December 16 - 11 January 2017 which was a nice flight and had no issues on arrival Montego bay and the 15 minute bus journey to the ship. Once on board everything was nice, we knew it was an old ship so were ... Read More
Flew off on the dream liner end December 16 - 11 January 2017 which was a nice flight and had no issues on arrival Montego bay and the 15 minute bus journey to the ship. Once on board everything was nice, we knew it was an old ship so were well prepared for that. The cabin was great apart from the little tiny television screwed to the dressing table right at the other end of the cabin but we weren't there to watch tv so not a big issue. The food looked great and plentiful however I found on most occasions that it was only lukewarm and sometimes just plain cold. I didn't like the breakfast as it was horrible foreign bread/toast with a sweet and chewy texture and the sausages cheap and horrible pork yuk. The waiter service restaurants were just ok, Food looked amazing and was your upmarket gourmet food but I personally just didn't like it much. I found the entertainment dismal and the same throughout the entire two weeks. Some guy with turrets syndrome playing the tin drums was nice and entertaining on the first night and not so bad on the second night and half way through the cruise I was getting pretty fed up. The singers were quite good but very dreary and on occasions so dreary that I fell asleep. Be up early to get a sunbed otherwise you won't get one. There is a 45 minute rule on the ship that if you don't return to your sunbed that your towel will be removed but nobody actually there to check or remove towels so there was always plenty of arguments around the pool. Back to the entertainment, it was pretty much dull. The team in the Theater were brilliant and I thoroughly enjoyed all the theater entertainment and can not find fault with it. However entertainment on the decks was tired and boring. You make the most of it but in reality you'd rather be reading a good book with some ear plugs in. The shore excursion - Oh god what a load of rubbish. I wanted to be out on UTV's, buggies, jeeps, jet skies, Fun stuff. There wasn't any of that. We did book an exciting scuba diving and speed boat excursion but on arrival the sea was so rough that the scuba diving part was cancelled and then the speedboat was cut short because a women did her back in after the boat hit a large wave. Most excursion are tours to places. We went to Dunns river falls in Jamaica which was a good day out but it took nearly three hours to get there and four to come back because of the traffic. We booked the express excursion thinking express meant straight there and back again. NO we still stopped for 45 minutes at some over priced bar and restaurant place in the middle of nothingness. Ridicules, why would they call it Dunn falls express if it's not. Ok so then the worst place on earth I have ever been to, Havana CUBA. The ship docked right on the edge of the town, it took over an hour to get through immigration, the miserable people! Then I walked straight out of the immigration building and into a pile of dog poo. My brand new trainers that I kept especially for what I thought was going to be a beautiful place. Havana stank, dogs everywhere, potholes, roadworks, buildings falling apart. exhaust fumes choking the life from your lungs. We actually had an over night in this dump and when we went to find a restaurant they didn't have half of what was on the menu. We went from restaurant to restaurant trying to find something nice to eat only to be told in every single place that only a few things on the menu were available. There is no phone signal and no WiFi service. Horrible place and I do not recommend that you go there. We even paid good money on an excursion to the square where Former Prime Minister Fidel Castro held his speeches and it was just a big car park. I expected to find at least a market or something. There is nothing in Havana, nothing but crap and toxic fumes and rip-off taxi drivers. Coming to the end of our cruise and the weather worsened and we had a 36 hour journey back over to Jamaica in the rough sea! I have never felt so sick in my life so it did not help to be told our flight back to Manchester had been cancelled. Stuck in Jamaica for another day might seem like a bonus but no! Thomson arranged for hotels. First we had to queue for an hour to get through immigration and then we had to queue for hours and wait our turn to get on a coach to our hotel. Then because of the awful Montego Bay traffic (Nothing like I have ever witnessed or witness again)took us over an hour to get to the hotel. I was just knackered but the hotel was like Butlins for the Americans, loud and noisy children running up and down and screaming. OMG! I hardly slept a wink. Had arranged a 4am wake up call as we were getting picked up for the airport at 6am but just as I stepped out from the stupidly slow shower a note come under the door informing us that our new flight had been delayed for three hours. Thomson had arranged for a Spanish Airline to take us home, this airline did not care for us as customers and I was actually seated at one end of the aircraft and my partner at the other. When we complained they said there was nothing the could do. How ridiculous. There was all sorts of commotion on the plane as people, disabled folk and old people struggled to swap seats to be with their partners. Absolutely disgraceful in my opinion. So not the best cruise we have ever been on. We were on the ship for New year. The dullest New year party EVER. Just no excitement. I think they specialize for people who are over 100 years old and need to get with the times. Even 70+ year old people know how to party these days. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2016
This was going to be our first cruise so we had an open mind to see if we enjoyed it. When we booked, we were looking forward to the holiday of a lifetime and paid £200 each for 7 day "All Inclusive" drinks package so we were ... Read More
This was going to be our first cruise so we had an open mind to see if we enjoyed it. When we booked, we were looking forward to the holiday of a lifetime and paid £200 each for 7 day "All Inclusive" drinks package so we were quite annoyed to find that when we got on board that the "All Inclusive" package wasn't as all inclusive as we thought, ...... The "All Inclusive" package allows you to have the cheap "unbranded" spirits, the house Red or White wines and a small selection of cheap cocktails. If you want to have branded spirits and access to all the bar facilities you will be offered an "Upgrade" to the "Premium All Inclusive" package at another £70 per person for the week. Given that this was supposed to be the ultimate "All Inclusive" option, and this was a very special holiday for us, we paid for the "Premium" package. But this is still not all inclusive, be warned, a bottle of wine in the restaurant is EXTRA, perhaps I misunderstood the concept of "All Inclusive", but no, wait.... it gets better, the mini bar in your cabin has a good selection of drinks, but these are owned by "House Keeping" and they aren't part of the "All Inclusive" package. The Cruise is nothing to write home about, the excursions we booked were reasonably priced, we were due to visit Honduras, Belize, Costa Maya and Cozumel.... The ports are all standard tourist traps, same expensive junk with a different name on it. The quality of food is generally poor, quite a lot of options but badly cooked. There was Norovirus on the ship while we were there. If the weather is bad, your trapped inside the ship, its not very nice but your stuck with it. The two swimming pools are tiny, not enough room to swim in. The extra services such as the Spa are what you expect to pay for but a word of caution, there are too many people trying to amuse themselves during peak times so spa bookings tend to be full unless you want a spa treatment at 8 in the morning. You can't use an iron onboard, all laundry and ironing has to be done by the ships laundry, at an extra charge. The best part of our holiday was at the Riu Montego Bay. In our opinion, don't do the cruise at all, spend 2 weeks in Jamaica. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2016
This was a cruise anticipated to get our new year off to a great star but New Year's Eve on board was rather flat. There was the opportunity to celebrate two but nothing happened or was scheduled in the intinerary of events on the ... Read More
This was a cruise anticipated to get our new year off to a great star but New Year's Eve on board was rather flat. There was the opportunity to celebrate two but nothing happened or was scheduled in the intinerary of events on the night to acknowledge Big Ben striking in the UK earlier than Caribbean time ...some cruises seize the opportunity to celebrate both...Midnight arrived on board and with the Cruise director prompting us all to look at the funnel something BIG was anticipated but nothing mareialised other than a few balloons and poppers and a glass of fizzy plonk...this was an opportunity missed by the cruise director and his team to do something spectacular as other ships do. The Broadway Theatre hosts evening shows and the singers and dancers are the best on board...they are very good. Red Syndicate are not the best whilst Two Intense are much better. David Morgan the ships Steel Drummer has had better days and suggestion was that he ended up on the Dream as being the best of what was left. His songs are repetitive and he is a clock watcher... The cruise was not without its share of adverse weather, often arriving at short notice but nothing was in place to entertain passengers unable to take advantage of glorious sunshine and now housed indoors. Ample opportunity existed for a daytime dance/disco in the waters edge...maybe a beach party theme...Carribbean shirts and all that...something to get the party started so to speak...no...entertainment was lacking and the teams leader lacked imagination and creativity on these occasions. Same with sail always..they were flat too. These opinions were shared by many and not expressed in isolation. Those who had been on the Dream before felt the previous Director was better at creating the party atmosphere this cruise lacked. Accommodation was good. Housekeeping was of a high standard, towels changed on demand. Staff very friendly. Food was ok but has been better during a previous cruise on this ship. The Orion restaurant was very good and again staff attentive to detail. The Lido and Sirens restaurants are the buffet ones and selection was ok, nothing spectacular and presentation very basic. Waiter service in the public areas and entertainment venues is extremely slow. The waiters appear to take several orders at once, return to the bar with their orders and then you wait for all drinks to be prepared before they return to your table. This practice is preferred on board in favour of you visiting the bar to get your own drinks. I can appreciate the need to observe safety especially when the ship is rocking and many carrying glasses so this is something Thomsons need remain conscious of and ensure sufficient resources are available to prepare and distribute drinks in a much shorter time. Reception is another area that was often criticised. These staff have been selected for their ability to say No and to defend the many issues presented by the on board internet access and its excessive costs. Using this facility is very expensive and you need to ensure you fully understand its operation or be prepared for an inflated charge should you not log off correctly or its failure be apportioned to yourself. One cannot assume the Caribbean is where the sunshines continuously! This is not the case and it was confirmed during our cruise. Rain is essential to the beautiful scenery around you but downpours do occur so be prepared...some of lengthy durations too..Weather conditions quickly change and sailing time can encounter rough seas as was the case towards the end of our cruise. It deteriorated soon after leaving Havana and followed us back to Montrgo Bay via Cozomel where the sea was so rough excursions returning to the ship via a ferry needed to transfer back to the ship via a side access. The swell was such that the ferry was bobbing up and down excessively and transfer carried huge risks. It also delayed our departure by a couple of hours at least. The first Three stops on our cruise saw us drop into Roatan, Honduras, Belize and then Costa Maya where each port was like a shopping mall and the major stores existed at each. Unfortunately the ships Port shopping guide was given time to host presentations specific to items one could purchase on our travels and promoting the stores that carried Thomson recommendations! Something the port shopping Advisor omitted from his presentation is the fact purchases in Mexican governed countries benefit from a shopping and tourism money back initiative! An initiative that has been in place for some time that sees just short of 9% ....yes 9%... of total monetary spend on jewellery, diamonds and watches returned to your account within 60 days of purchase! ...so my advice is make your purchase in COZOMEL...not Roatan...not Belize...COZOMEL also has other outlets than those Thomsons promote that sell watch brands like Rolex and RADO too in addition to those available in Diamonds International... I am of the view we all want to save money and it's better in our pocket than theirs..my only thought as to why this initiative escapes reference during presentations is that it would compromise sales at ports where this initiative does not exist. Check it out...it's a GOVERNMENT initiative...and not something outlets subsidise. You stand to save a lot of money or lose it depending on place of purchase but ultimately it's your call. If you have any questions you think I may be able to help you with then please don't hesitate to ask. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2016
If you're looking to reenact scenes from "Carry on Sailing", then this is the ship for you. Our room was a decent size (outside plus), but resembled something from the 1970's, with dark wood panelling and floral ... Read More
If you're looking to reenact scenes from "Carry on Sailing", then this is the ship for you. Our room was a decent size (outside plus), but resembled something from the 1970's, with dark wood panelling and floral carpet ensemble, finished off with a large bleach stain on one of the curtains (don't even get me started on the dirty old plastic bottle parked under the bed, together with 2 years worth of dust and fluff). Throughout, the ship looked tired and worn, and an unusual smell of boiled cabbage permeated the air. On the sun decks, glasses and crockery were not collected until the end of each day, and tables were often left uncleared and unwiped. It seemed perfectly acceptable for people to visit the buffets in a state of undress and bare footed. Casual T-shirts were allowed in the Orion restaurant on formal evenings, and we spotted a number of guests puffing on e-cigarettes in the restaurant and bars inside of the ship. Entertainment was poor at best, with the exception of the Show Team in the Broadway Lounge. The steel drum guy had a very limited musical repertoire - on a good day he had maximum 5 songs (which we now know off by heart), and played regularly around the ship sometimes up to 5 times per day. Other bands around the ship were ok, just not EVERY day, and if you're lucky, the guest acts (1 per week) include one of the grumbleweeds, and a couple of blokes who probably had their own spot on the Comedians 1970s TV show. One evening, we were treated to an Elton John DVD playing in the lounge (yes, really)!! No sign of the entertainment team after 11 pm. Entertainment after this time was usually held in the Waters Edge bar, where a few danced to records; this is also shared with the casino. However, going to bed early is essential, as you can forget a lie in on sea days. You must be ready to set your alarm and set off to the starting blocks to reserve a sun bed by 7 am. Anything will do - a hat, random flip flop or my own personal favourite - a scatter cushion from your bedroom. You may then retire to your room until late morning, safe in the knowledge that your bed, towel and/or possessions will still be there, as Thomson do not enforce their own policy of NOT reserving sunbeds. Service was extremely poor in all of the bars, it wasn't unusual to wait more than 30 minutes for a drink, and that's after spending 20 minutes trying to attract the attention of the moody looking waiter who would look anywhere but directly at you. Waiters/wine stewards in the Orion restaurant were all pleasant and friendly, but service was often very slow, food luke warm and resembled something from a motorway service station canteen. There was a choice of three al la carte restaurants, food was good in all of these, but again, service was slow (we waited more than two hours between courses in Mistrels) A £5 discount was applied if you chose to eat at all three (which will set you back £50 p/p). Steak in the Orion restaurant carried an extra £10 charge, and beware if you have opted for the "all inclusive" drinks package. This does not include all drinks, in fact if you wish to have access to everything on the drinks menu, then you must upgrade to all inclusive premier - a mere snip, at £10 per person, per day (the only time you will have the full attention of the waiters, when trying to flog this upgrade). The only good thing about this cruise was returning home. A luxurious priced holiday, for a what was essentially a car ferry in fancy dress! Read Less
20 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2016
I decided to treat my husband to a Caribbean Criuse for his 60th birthday. It was his first cruise and unfortunately he has decided will be his last. I had looked at the ship on line on YouTube and what we experienced bore no resemblance ... Read More
I decided to treat my husband to a Caribbean Criuse for his 60th birthday. It was his first cruise and unfortunately he has decided will be his last. I had looked at the ship on line on YouTube and what we experienced bore no resemblance to what was shown on the video. We were booked into an outside, at extra cost, cabin 5143. Walking through the corridor to the cabin there was a definite foul odour. The view through the cabin window was marred by the rusted frame work. The cabin was cleaned regularly by the cabin staff, however, we had problems with the toilet which was constantly leaking from the back. Three days in there were problems when the toilet stopped flushing. This was reported and fixed. The smell of effluence remained in the corridor throughout the cruise. The air conditioning in our room which was directly above our bed and was very fierce. The engineer was called to adjust it on more than one occasion. At night we could not sleep from constant rattling and scratching noises which we thought was coming from outside the cabin and was in fact coming from the lighting above our heads my husband had to stuff a cushion between the ceiling and frame to get some rest. The ship appears tired and rundown throughout and should be taken out of commission. Lifts between floors do not work efficiently and appear creaking. The Lido deck was dirty and unkept. Tables were placed ad hoc with rubber mats that were obviously placed for the table to sit were out of place and left worn and dirty. There was nowhere to sit on decks the areas around the pool were over crowded with deck chairs everywhere. Tables on deck were left uncleared. My husband had to clear away trays and plates in order for us to sit down. On other deck where there were seats there was smoking as non smokers we could not sit there. We chose to eat in the Orion restaurant the staff were very cheery, however, we waited 15-20 minutes between courses at evening meals. Breakfast our toast would be brought to the table and go cold whilst we waited for the breakfast to arrive which was on more than one occasion the wrong order. On deck drinks staff avoided coming over to you and we had to go to the bar. Having ordered a fruit punch cream was added without my asking for it when I sent this back it was returned to me in the same plastic beaker with the cream still obviously in the drink. The drinks steward was not pleased when I took it back to be changed I had to give it to a different server. The itinerary was changed at the last minute, we missed going to Grand Cayman. This was extremely disappointing as we had never been there before and we were hoping to visit family. We were instead taken back to Jamaica where we had already spent 7 nights of our trip. We were taken to Ocho Rios, the ship docked in what was an industrial loading area, far away from the town and the other cruise ships. We were told free transport was offered to Dunn's River Falls. No other option was given. The Falls cost $20 US each. It was Boxing Day and was crowded with tourists and residents queuing to get in. We would not travel with Thomson Cruises again. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2016
We choose this cruise mainly because of stops in Cuba and grand Cayman. I will catalogue below, but our biggest disappointment of the cruise was the fact that even though the itinerary stated we were going there! When we booked the ... Read More
We choose this cruise mainly because of stops in Cuba and grand Cayman. I will catalogue below, but our biggest disappointment of the cruise was the fact that even though the itinerary stated we were going there! When we booked the cruise the first stop was Cayman but this was changed. The day before we were due to go to Cayman the captain announced that we were unable to go yo Cayman as our anchorage had been cancelled as the bigger boats had priority! Poor reason not to go as this cruise hat been booked a year in advance. So my catalogue begins Arrived at Montgo bay our visit to Jamaica and only got to see the airport. The plane got in at 2.15 and we were kettled into a corridor at the airport in a queue until 4pm waiting for a coach transfer! The boat left for Cuba. Arrived at Cuba again queued in a corridor for 30 mins for a coach to go for a five minute drive to pick up a car tour. Julie the cruise tour manager was clueless! The lido pool deck was never clean. You never saw a drinks waiter you had to go up to the bar. Dishes lefty lying around and the tables never wiped. Most of the entertainment very ameature Positives Orion restaurant brilliant Broadway theatre fantastic Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2016
HI all, This is the first time i have had reason to complain about thomson cruises. We booked this cruise to the caribbean for my lady and I plus a another family of three adults and one 12 year old lady. we were all excited about ... Read More
HI all, This is the first time i have had reason to complain about thomson cruises. We booked this cruise to the caribbean for my lady and I plus a another family of three adults and one 12 year old lady. we were all excited about getting some luxury in the sun. The whole Idea was to get away for Christmas with our friends and to surprise my now fiance by getting engaged on christmas eve. we paid 1650 each.2 weeks The flight was brilliant as were the crew. the new aircraft is fantastic, apart from a blocked toilet on the way out there were no problems. Embarkation was smooth. (may i add if you can book into NO1 lounges it was fantastic. the staff there and the quality of food and drink for 20 quid were brilliant, thank you no1). We arrived at the ship to find it looking tired and in need of replacing. The crew , well most of them looked like they had been shouted at to get a grip. Now we appreciate they are away from their families at christmas and empathise, however , if you decide to do this type of work then accept it. we decided to book an excursion named Caribbean experience, well it was a very limited experience to say the least. it was suppose to be a 7 hour trip and ended up taking us to a small village 40 minutes away with one shop and a pub for 30 minutes then rushed onto the bus for another 30 minute drive to another village with a so called nature reserve. A path through the woods does not constitute a nature reserve.Sorry. we stayed there for 90 minutes had a walk along a beach and then went to the local pub which was dirty with the smell of weed and people sleeping off hangovers in hammocks. Im not against people enjoying but it didnt make us feel comfortable. I complained to the excursion manageress who said she would send a complaint form off to head office. I asked for a refund for all our party or even a discount off another trip but was told bluntly NO.we were going to be on here for 2 weeks. I chased up the complaint and was told it was up to HO to sort out as she has no authority.Bull. WE paid 112 a couple for that trip which was not worth a tenner. so dont do it. In relation to this complaint after returning home i have written several letters of complaint and benn waffled to on every occasion.thye just dont care about my feelings on how we were treated. Good points. Food was lovely as were the catering staff and the meals were well presented and we were really looked after, in fact they made the effort for our engagement night and made christmas eve memorable.Thank you. Cabin maid was brill, as they all are, those little things with towels make a difference. The showteam theatre were very good, the shows great. Cuba was fab Thats it. all good points done. The main pool was empty when we embarked so the kids were boiling. there was very little attention to us whilst we were on deck, one time waiting an hour for a drink and then having to go to the bar ourselves. The artistes/singers on board were great albeit a bit repettative. The steel drum player every night was overwhelmingly noisy and wrongly placed. We never even had a embarkation party when leaving montego bay. Our toilet was blocked several times and had to be dismantled while we were out. with my fiance getting the blame for blocking it. trust me we didnt, we were last in line before the sludge gets to the plant room. we have cruised very often and know the rules for g sake, There was a smell of sewerage on the ship especially on deck 5 Lifts kept breaking down hand driers not working throughout the ship waiter service slow to say the least.and miserable We are very very disheartened with thomson who obviously do not give a damn about their reputation.just count the money, no wonder they have discovered their smile. the excursions are very expensive and not worth it. you will find Taxi's by the port who are extortionate as you pay per head. terrible. if you go outside the port terminal you will get a better deal. Please believe me when i say this is the first time i have written a complaint and it may well be all over the place. the end result is the same. I will Never sail on the older generation ships with thomson again, ever. unless it was paid for by thomson then id have to think about it. you would be better off with P and O or Princess. The Dream Is NOT for kids. there is nothing to do on there.you can stay at home and play monopoly./cards. Thomson you have lost a whole family who have used you for years.and you had your chance to rectify a bad situation.Very sad.Very tired,like your dream. PS. where i have marked poor for service this does not include restaurant staff who made the holiday worthwhile. Read Less
17 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2016
We like to get away during the first 2 weeks of December and what better way than a Thomson cruise. This was our 10th Thomson cruise but our first time on Thomson Dream where we were fortunate enough to have an outside cabin on deck 10. ... Read More
We like to get away during the first 2 weeks of December and what better way than a Thomson cruise. This was our 10th Thomson cruise but our first time on Thomson Dream where we were fortunate enough to have an outside cabin on deck 10. There is an obstructed view in some of the cabins on this deck but that didn't worry us at all. The cabin was excellent, plenty of space and room to store your belongings. It was kept immaculate by our cabin steward. The temperature control was good. It was also nice to have tea and coffee making facilities within the cabin. Be aware that the electricity is american voltage and so UK appliances may run slowly. (i.e. my hotbrush). There is liquid soap/shower gel provided so don't forget your favourite shampoo. We ate mainly in the Orion restaurant for breakfast and dinner as we like to be served at the table whilst on holiday. The food was excellent throughout. There was a good choice; it was hot, plentiful and very well presented. I would defy anyone to complain about 'the full English' every morning! The waiters and wine waiters were well trained and very efficient and friendly. We do miss some of the traditions that are gradually being trimmed back such as the 'Baked Alaska Parade' which was minus the baked alaska or even the plastic ones previously introduced on Destiny! However, that's nothing to complain about! Captain Richard Watkins could only be described as a true 'Diamond Geezer' and as down to earth and friendly as you could wish to find anywhere. He sounded just like Martin Kemp over the tannoy! The entertainment was as good as ever. We liked the ship's layout with all the entertainment being along just one deck - deck 8. There was a good choice of bars creating a range of atmospheres and the drinks were good. We prefer not to purchase the all inclusive package as for us we find it preferable to pay for what we have consumed at the end. Our itinerary was the Pride of Panama which took in the Panama Canal; Costa Rica, Grand Cayman, Falmouth and Montego Bay in Jamaica. Falmouth was preferable to Catagena,Columbia I believe. It was not very advisable to venture ashore on your own in both Colon, Panama or Porto Limon, Costa Rica. Both places had an unsafe feel about them. There was a varied choice of excursions in all of the ports of call. Unfortunately, our trip through the Panama Canal had one hold up after another which took the shine off the day as a whole but we were still glad that we did it. We did feel that the shoreside excursions in these South American countries let the side down somewhat but probably that is the nature of the area there and very difficult for the Thomson Destination Services Team to control. There is a good duty free shop on board. Thomson have stopped handing out deck plans when you arrive on-board. It's a shame that they don't inform you of this beforehand and maybe give you a link to print off your own via your on-line booking. It's OK when you have found your way around but would make your first hours on the ship more pleasant knowing where you are going. All in all the Thomson Dream is up there with the rest of the Thomson fleet. We love them all and are ardent Thomson cruisers. We know where we stand with Thomson, we know just what we are getting with no hidden surprises or daily charges added to the cost. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2016
On the whole we enjoyed the two week cruise doing Panama Canal and Cuban Fusion. What has spoilt it really are a couple of things We booked the Panama Canal excursion through Thomson at a cost of about £90 each. We had no idea that ... Read More
On the whole we enjoyed the two week cruise doing Panama Canal and Cuban Fusion. What has spoilt it really are a couple of things We booked the Panama Canal excursion through Thomson at a cost of about £90 each. We had no idea that there was a two hour bus trip before we reached the point of joining the ferry to go through the canal. We then had to wait in the bus for authority from the Port Authority to go on ferry. We got going and there were cold drinks readily available, quite a poor lunch for what ended up being a VERY long day. We got to the first lock but had to wait about two hours for a very big heavily laden tanker ship to catch up with us and the same with the next lock. To cut a long story short this trip which should have been an 8 hour day ended up being a 11 1/2 hour day causing the ship to wait for over 600 passengers to board - it should have left port at about 6 but it was 8.30+ before we all boarded. The amount of food provided for this 11 1/2 day was very poor. Thomson need to forewarn their guests that this could happen!! We would not have booked this trip had we known. So beware if you decide you want to do this trip! We thought there were fewer crew staff than previously on the Dream this time, some were lovely and friendly. Others not so which is a bit disappointing. Food was fine and my husband was looked after well on his garlic free menu by the head waiter in the restaurant Orion. What has annoyed is the most - and if it is not rectified I will take this matter to Small Claims Court - we have been charged £20 for two blue towels which we returned to the Broadway Show Lounge just before we collected our hand luggage to depart ship. It used to be the system that old blue towels were placed by the pool which could be used by people on their last day and place them in a washbin when finished with. Now they have a system on the Dream whereby you leave your hand luggage at the right hand side of the Broadway and you can collect blue towels to use on last day from the left side of Broadway. A crew member has all the cabin numbers listed on sheets of paper and he marks off the number of towels we borrowed. We actually borrowed three because my husband has a bad neck and he rolled one up for neck support. We handed these back shortly before 2.30 pm, the crew member found our cabin number on the list and marked their return. Our friends who were with us borrowed one towel only and also returned it in the same way. Imagine my surprise to discover, thanks to my friend telling me about them being charged for their returned towel, we had been charged too for our returned towels!! I am so annoyed! I have tried writing to them but just get an automated reply back saying it will be dealt with within 28 days. Tried speaking to the branch in Cleethorpes where I booked it. They were quite helpful, I thought, but apart from one phone call back my email to them yesterday has not even been acknowledged. SO BEWARE IF YOU BORROW BLUE TOWELS ON YOUR LAST DAY, GET A RECEIPT FOR THEIR RETURN OR YOU WILL POSSIBLY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM AS US! Think I will end it here. If we did not already have another cruise booked for June to celebrate my husband's brother and wife Diamond Wedding I doubt we would go on another Thomson cruise. Ironically, before we knew about this scenario with the towels, the day before we discovered the charge of £20, we had booked a cruise to celebrate my 65th birthday in the new Discovery 2. Certainly would not have booked this one had we known!! Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2016
Having sailed with P &O previously and enjoyed the experience,we were a little unsure about what to expect when booking our thomson cruise on the Dream. Fortunately we had nothing to worry about as the Dream was an extremely ... Read More
Having sailed with P &O previously and enjoyed the experience,we were a little unsure about what to expect when booking our thomson cruise on the Dream. Fortunately we had nothing to worry about as the Dream was an extremely enjoyable experience, the food and staff being it's biggest selling attributes. Our cabin was spacious and clean and had a window which was great for sea views although not as good as our balcony with P & O. It had a fridge stocked with beers and soft drinks but we never used this as it was chargeable,we did pay for the basic all inclusive drinks package and found this to be excellent value. The wine in the restaurants was excellent and was topped up frequently by the waiters and you could have as much as you could drink. Entertainment was of a really good quality and we didn't want to leave the ship to go to our hotel in Jamaica. We had booked a further week in the Grand Luxury Bahia Principe in Runaway Bay Jamaica for or second week which was allegedly a 5 star hotel, unfortunately more like a 3 star, Staff were very unfriendly and the food average, we could never have stayed 2 weeks. Also had the unfortunate experience of being in the presence of the worst and most intimidating Thomson rep We had ever met named Godfrey, which almost stopped us booking any further Thomson Holidays. Don't be put off by bad reviews of the Dream, the Crew and hospitality is excellent and we will be booking another cruise asap. Read Less
Marella Dream Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 4.0 0.0
Dining 4.0 0.0
Entertainment 4.0 0.0
Public Rooms 4.0 0.0
Fitness Recreation 4.0 0.0
Family 4.0 0.0
Shore Excursion 4.0 0.0
Enrichment 3.0 0.0
Service 5.0 0.0
Value For Money 4.0 0.0
Rates 4.0 0.0

Find a Cruise

Email me when prices drop