1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: February 2019
We have had a number of Celenrity Cruises this was the most disappointing. The positives - Luminae dining, cabin housekeeping and general level of service. The Sky Suite was spacious and service excellent but the noise from trolleys ... Read More
We have had a number of Celenrity Cruises this was the most disappointing. The positives - Luminae dining, cabin housekeeping and general level of service. The Sky Suite was spacious and service excellent but the noise from trolleys in the buffet restaurant directly above was intrusive - especially in early morning. Negatives- We saw no evidence of 'priority boarding' which is sold as part of the package. Our check in at Auckland, which was a shambles and left is standing on the gangway with all other passengers for over 20 minutes, set the scene for all other ports. We appreciate port restrictions where only one gangway ( which would sometimes only carry 5 at any one time) seemed to be a feature but no attempt was made to prioritise and there tended to be only one card reader in operation,which for a ship this size is ridiculous. We felt sorry for disabled passengers. Occasionally there were two bag screening machines but not very often. NOISE! Screaming music invaded almost every public space even the Lawn Club, which we associate with peace and calm. A number of other passengers asked for it to be turned off or turned down but it was systematically turned back up. So many of us complained especially in the Martini bar where a disco was thumping out mindlessly. Up selling was intrusive and infuriating. Celebrity clearly have a mandate to squeeze as much out of passengers as possible. This is even more evident in our bookin for next year ( which we will probably cancel). Gratuities are added to the total cost of the cruise and the customary service for those of us who have to fly to Florida, where flight times are not compatible with cruise times, were an overnight hotel pre cruise and day room on day of departure are now an extra the latter being totally unavailable. We have contacted Celebrity. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: November 2018
Enjoyed H.A.L some time ago and decided to join friends on this 12 night cruise around New Zealand and to Norfolk Island. Most of the cruise en counted bad weather for the time of yearn around New Zealand. Well we never got to land on ... Read More
Enjoyed H.A.L some time ago and decided to join friends on this 12 night cruise around New Zealand and to Norfolk Island. Most of the cruise en counted bad weather for the time of yearn around New Zealand. Well we never got to land on Norfolk Island , the swells too big, a shame but nothing you can do to change that. The ship has H.A.L. new E.X.C. ,we were not a fan of this as it cuts done the amount of entertainment on the ship. Staff told us this is the only ship in the fleet with EXC and it appeals to limited folk from what we heard from others. The ship had only 972 on board this cruise and as it takes 1250 , tender times were good for the most part. Entertainment was very limited and some sub standard.The Cruise Director seemed to do everything with no helpers. The ship is old , but staff excellent in all departments. Our first cabin 545 had so many noises (sounded like steel on steel in the outside wall) we could not sleep.We were moved to 555 , this also had unacceptable noise ! We were then shifted to 556 which was fine apart from the shower control. Dining Room and Buffet both had cheerful and excellent staff as was the cabin staff.. Not 5 star by any mean,s , not even a fridge in the cabin, however the ship is kept clean and tidy by the crew at all times (with a smile) Read Less
Sail Date: February 2018
16 months in the planning of this trip. To be disappointed by the weather but at the end of the day no one can pre plan this aspect. We started our adventure by flying to hong Kong then flying to Auckland to join the ship. embarkation 10 ... Read More
16 months in the planning of this trip. To be disappointed by the weather but at the end of the day no one can pre plan this aspect. We started our adventure by flying to hong Kong then flying to Auckland to join the ship. embarkation 10 out of 10 Once on-board enjoyed superb lunch compliments of concierge class. Shown to our cabin biggest we have had so far. We have always chosen balcony but this was bigger than most. From then on could not fault anything. All the staff whom we met were so helpful and friendly at the same time being courteous and polite. The food was excellent in our opinion. The service in the restaurant was second to none. We went to 3 of the speciality restaurants of which silk was the best offering different food to the main dining room. If there was a niggle it would be the way they push these restaurants form day one only to find the price reduced a day or two later. I'd recommend that the other two restaurants serve the same food as in the main dining room but it is service you are paying extra for, therefore people should make their own decision when booking. We dined at the elements dining room most nights and all staff very polite and would like to thank camilo, dewi ne, Agnelo,and the other lady sommelier, sorry forgotten your name. Just a little footnote this wasn't the first time we have cruised with celebrity. We cruised last year on the millennium which was by far inferior to this one. Thank you millennium you have restored our faith in celebrity. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: August 2017
I grabbed a four night cruise from Auckland to Sydney for a change from flying and thoroughly enjoyed my little maritime interlude. Most of the other passengers had either done the complete 100 or so days or half that from New York. ... Read More
I grabbed a four night cruise from Auckland to Sydney for a change from flying and thoroughly enjoyed my little maritime interlude. Most of the other passengers had either done the complete 100 or so days or half that from New York. They seemed to be an older crowd and a contented and relaxed lot so all was well. I didn't bother with the Dining Room and ate in the Horizon Buffet for my meals. I was very pleasantly surprised at all they offered. This ship has traditional first and second sitting in the Dining Rooms and 5.30pm is too early for me and 8.30pm is too late. Obviously I have been spoiled by my MyTime dining on so many of the other cruise lines and ships. The Tasman was a bit wild and we sailed a long way south to avoid a swirling weather pattern but that didn't delay us and we avoided the worst of the weather and arrived on time. I am due to spent 12 nights on Sea Princess in October (Fremantle to Singapore) and back in an outside cabin again. I'm very much looking forward to this trip on the lovely Grande Dame of the Seas. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: February 2017
We wanted a Cruise that would in compass New Zealand and Australia, Princess fitted the itinerary adequately. However although we enjoyed the cruise overall we felt that it didn't reach our expectations and lacked the little bit ... Read More
We wanted a Cruise that would in compass New Zealand and Australia, Princess fitted the itinerary adequately. However although we enjoyed the cruise overall we felt that it didn't reach our expectations and lacked the little bit extra appeal that might make us automatic returning customers. As this was our first Princess cruise we are not sure whether it was just this particular Ship Emerald or the general cruise line itself? The ship seemed difficult to find ones bearing at times and to get to specific area like the Share Restaurant and Adigo Bar. The dining arrangements were much the same as other cruise lines, we were anytime dining in the MichAelangelo restaurant. The food was good the menu was much the same every evening and was lacking in variety, the restaurant staff lacked etiquette at times and would clear your plate before your partner had finished their meal something I would expect in the Horizon Restaurant which in fact was the exact opposite. Both Speciality Restaurants the Crown Grill and Share were enjoyable and made up for the disappointment in the other restaurants. Everything about Horizon restaurant was terrible probably the worst we have accounted. We did book some excursions and these were good but heavily over priced as normal for cruise lines, however the debacle at Gisborne with the tenders due to the rough waters leaves a lot to be desired, not that anything could have been done about the weather and safety was paramount but the the lack of water, shelter and basic information to let people know what's going on was poor. We found that thoroughout the cruise the lack of visibility of ship officers was noticeable compared to other ships which seemed odd particularly when things might be going wrong and safety might be of some concern. Like the Tender debacle mentioned above, people standing all the way up on either side of staircases whilst watching or listening to events in the Auditorium during rough sees us only asking for an accident to occur it was probably by sheer luck nothing occurred. Oddly the announcement over the ships intercom warning people to hold on to rails during rough sees seemed pointless if they are obstructed as I mentioned above. Overall we had a good cruise not great it could have been considerably better but this was lacking on this particular Princess Ship, not sure we will try Princess again it would have to have a spectacular destination and itinerary and probably a different ship. Read Less
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2017
We absolutely loved this cruise. The weather wasn't great at times but we still enjoyed it. We visited some awesome places... Bay of Islands is still beautiful, some sad moments travelling around Christchurch post the earthquakes, ... Read More
We absolutely loved this cruise. The weather wasn't great at times but we still enjoyed it. We visited some awesome places... Bay of Islands is still beautiful, some sad moments travelling around Christchurch post the earthquakes, certainly lots of waterfalls in the Milford Sound (they had 9.5 inches in the 24 hr period!) and some reflection time at Port Arthur, Tasmania. We met some fantastic people around the Ship. The staff certainly go above the call of duty! Captain Tasos was awesome and he provided a humorous update each morning and he held his spot in the Volleyball Pool competition. Ken Mills, larger than life CD was fun! Ketut, our room attendant, ensured our room was always in a pristine condition. We had some great evenings in Blu with front of house staff, David & Marcel. We had lots of laughs in Tuscan Grille with Radomir (try the Basil smash drinks!). We finished many nights off with the artistic, hardworking guys in the Martini Bar. Agus, Alin and Ari are a credit to Celebrity! We tried each of the speciality restaurants and Murano was our favourite, although they are all fantastic. The house band were ok? The silent disco is a must for everyone - it is so much fun! Read Less
14 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2016
As first time cruisers, we were both a little hesitant as to whether the cruise would be full of 'oldies' as some had said......SURPRISE !!!! Even though hubby is 72 and I am 67 we absolutely loved it. The age of passengers ... Read More
As first time cruisers, we were both a little hesitant as to whether the cruise would be full of 'oldies' as some had said......SURPRISE !!!! Even though hubby is 72 and I am 67 we absolutely loved it. The age of passengers ranged from 1 year olds up to 93 years young. We met some wonderful people and made life long friendships (and they were all much younger than us. The food was lovely and varied and always plentiful. The Waterfront Restaurant was nice for a change, however the meals were very small and we found ourselves returning to Plantation for a 'top up'. We were located in cabin 10203 which was midship and the walk to the stairs / lifts was easy. The entire staff were exceptional, from the cleaners, waiting staff, bar personnel, security and the restaurant staff always had a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them. The entertainment and activities are varied and there is something for everyone. We spent a lot of time on Deck 12 as there was always something to see and meeting lots of new people was one of the highlights of the trip. We didn't book our shore tours on the ship as we found it cheaper to do this once ashore. Overall our entire cruise was excellent and we have now booked another for next year. Read Less
14 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: April 2016
We had the most amazing time. After reading the reviews in trip advisor we did not know what to expect. The whole trip, food the room everything was fabulous. Our main thanks to the staff especially jun jun, Donna, john, rauul and ... Read More
We had the most amazing time. After reading the reviews in trip advisor we did not know what to expect. The whole trip, food the room everything was fabulous. Our main thanks to the staff especially jun jun, Donna, john, rauul and dadaji they made our trip really comfortable and so enjoyable. We are now hooked to cruises. We had the best time and we found it real value for money the food was really good the restaurants was amazing would go back in a blink. We found the ports really good, but would have liked if they were not in a row that was a little bit too much with the kids but otherwise all was really good. We found the food to be really good, the waterfront restaurant was amazing and buffet was pretty good as well, and buying the softdrinks package was really good. We found the staff really wonderful, nothing was too difficult everyone always had a cheerful smile and were very friendly. The cabin was cleaned twice a day a big thank you to john and rauul for making my daughter's day for her 12th birthday And a big thankyou to dadaji for the dinner and making her dinner so wonderful and bring the cake she was so stoked. For the waterfront restaurant a big thankyou to jun jun and Donna you made our dinner really enjoyable and jun jun the kids really enjoyed all his magic tricks that he showed them. We would do this cruise in a heartbeat again. Looking forward to the next cruise we are totally hooked. thank you p and o for giving us such an enjoyable experience. Read Less
Sail Date: April 2015
I'm a first time cruiser but won't be in a rush to return. The Pacific Pearl was just okay! Alot of the staff were friendly but quite a few were rude and some were nonchalant and unhappy. The evening entertainment was moderate ... Read More
I'm a first time cruiser but won't be in a rush to return. The Pacific Pearl was just okay! Alot of the staff were friendly but quite a few were rude and some were nonchalant and unhappy. The evening entertainment was moderate to terrible. I had to leave one show after 15 minutes it was so crap. Also, the cruise director was very annoying, repeating herself every evening on stage. The ship has two small spas/jacuzzi's which was a squash for more than 8 people and it would have been good if they were either bigger or they had a few more of them. We ate dinner at the Waterfront Restaurant one evening but the risotto was completely bland and the pizza was disgusting. Because of this we ate at the only other free restaurant, The Plantation, every day. But after 6-7 days I was sick of the options for each sitting as the breakfast was always the same, lunch the same and dinner the same each day. My travel companion had been on a Princess cruise a few months ago which she couldn't stop raving about and comparing against the Pacific Pearl. She felt the Princess cruise was 5 out of 5 and the Pacific Pearl only 3 out of 5 at best. Due to a cyclone heading toward New Caledonia we couldn't go to Lifou or Noumea understandably but there was no compensation at all like a glass of wine or a credit to each cabins account. A few positives to end the review: we had a great cabin: big porthole, comfortable beds, wardrobe space with coat hangers, tons of drawer space. The gym is good with plenty of equipment for a ship. Basically, if you want to go on a cruise maybe avoid the Pacific Pearl and try a Princess ship instead. Read Less
Sail Date: March 2015
Spent great vacation with my husband. We were really surprised with a very cleab comfortable cabin with a balcony. It was really nice to spend mornings with coffee breathing the fresh air. Lots of towels and toiletries in the ... Read More
Spent great vacation with my husband. We were really surprised with a very cleab comfortable cabin with a balcony. It was really nice to spend mornings with coffee breathing the fresh air. Lots of towels and toiletries in the bathroom. Nice food at Grill restourant for me but not for my husband. Comfortable table, polite staff. But i think they could have better menu. I can't say that emtertainment was great but i had never been interested in it. I prefere to read and to look at he water. Service was quite good. I always freez so I asked for an extra blanket and in 15 min girl brought it to me. Read Less

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise